dslreports logo
site
spacer

spacer

spacer




how-to block ads



WTC Communications page on DSLReports
Six Month Rating Unavailable
More reviews are required before ratings can be averaged

Reviews:
bullet 4 reviews (0 good) (2 bad)
bullet Submit a review by email click here
bullet login for new review notification feature

Review by (hidden by request)

  • Location: k7n2a
  • Cost: $70 per month (12 month contract)
  • Telco party Bell Canada
Good "No Automated Phone Machine"
Bad "The Speed"
Overall "Recieved less then half the speed I was told!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:


Hello, I am writing this review as I am not pleased with WTC Communications
based out of Kingston, ON. I signed up with WTC after cancelling my account
with Cogeco after 4 weeks ago. I ordered a package that was to have 10mbps
of download speed and 70gb's of Bandwidth. I was told when ordering that in
my location (Amherstview. ON 15mins away from the companies local location)
that I would only be able to receive 6mbps, not 10. I confirmed that I
understood and that it wasn't a big deal. 2 weeks down the road, the
internet was finally hooked up. I noticed my speed was only clocking in at
between 2-3mbps. I figured maybe they hadn't set me up properly or
something and let it slide for a couple days. I finally called in (5 days
after having the service installed) and spoke with a technician about my
concern. He directed me to speedtest.net to test my speeds which I had
already done. To no avail, I was clocked multiple time between 2-3mbps. He
then proceeds to tell me that in my area that 2-3mbps is all that I will
probably get. So I stated that I was going to cancel my service due to the
fact that I was paying for 10mbps, was told I'd get 6mbps, and am now only
getting up to 3mbps. Less than half of the speed im paying for. I was told
that there was a $100 early cancellation fee. I was a little shocked
considering I had the internet merely 5 days. I turned off my modem as to
not be charged any further. After about a week of calling back and fourth.
I was told simply, "...our service is an "up to" service so that should
have been explained and we can not reverse the ECF." (Early Cancellation
Fee). I was trying to be civil and understanding with them and did not want
to have to write this review, but these are the facts. Beware this company.
I give them a 5/10, they receive points for actually answering their phones
when I called and despite the slow speed, the internet actually worked.

(review was emailed from domain gmail.com)
lodged 2 years ago

Comments:
15444104
Premium
join:2012-06-11

Did they disclose the part about "up to" speeds...

BEFORE you agreed to the terms of service?

It doesn't sound like they did in which case they should IMMEDIATELY refund your account and credit your account for any ETF. This sounds like FRAUD to me.
mikelynn

join:2012-10-17

RE: Recieved less then half the speed I was told!

I work for WTC Communications. I'm sorry to hear you were not able to receive the speeds you signed up for. While we do make every effort to deliver the best speeds we can, in certain cases we are at the mercy of the infrastructure being used. Based on your location, you would be using copper lines from a Bell office. On copper, the speed of your internet connection is dictated by the distance of your home to the office the lines originate in.

Because of the way the technology works we clearly indicate in all of our advertising and promotions that it is an "up to" service. In fact, the very first sentence about any of our internet products on our website and in print is, "Download speed UP TO XMbps." We have been diligent about making this point very clear in all of our communication with customers, as well as in our Terms of Service.

My understanding is that you were able to achieve approximately 3Mbps. While this isn't ideal, it is likely the maximum that the current technology can offer at your particular location.

Again, I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with our service. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything we can help you with in the future.