When you click on the under a post, you are presented with the screen above. (Unless the user is on your "buddy list," in which case you will see only the "encourage" button.)
You will be able to see the thumbs in your posts that are "encouraged." They will be highlighted to you within a thread, and the names of the users who gave them to you will be shown to the left of the post, like this:
If you are the voter, you will be able to see that you have given a vote up for that post. Also, the person who received your vote will see that it came from you. No one else sees the votes.