It's a way of allowing trusted people to use our SMTP server and disallowing spammers from relaying through it. When you check your incoming mail via the POP3 server (where you have to prove who you are with a username and password), your IP address is automatically added to the "ok to relay mail" list for a time, roughly 30 minutes. This means that during that window, you can send mail to others through the mail.dslr.net SMTP server. After 30 minutes the window is closed, only to be opened again the next time you check your mail.
Many email clients have an option "POP before SMTP" or "check before send" - enable it if you can.
last modified: 2002-12-12 10:56:36