dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
view:
topics flat nest 
Comments on news posted 2013-02-13 08:22:00: Comcast's fourth quarter earnings indicate that the cable company almost managed to not lose video subscribers on the quarter, but still shed 7,000 anyway. ..

page: 1 · 2 · next

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er

bad link Karl

»www.cmcsk.com/releasedet ··· D=739834

also while they lost some video subs, video revenue went up.

newview
Ex .. Ex .. Exactly
Premium Member
join:2001-10-01
Parsonsburg, MD

1 recommendation

newview

Premium Member

said by gar187er:

It's not hard to increase video revenue when you raise prices twice a year

bbeesley
join:2003-08-07
Richardson, TX

bbeesley

said by newview:

Video revenues are up 2.5% or about $1B from 2011 to 2012 so the tactic seems to be working for them financially.
NOVA_UAV_Guy
Premium Member
join:2012-12-14
Purcellville, VA

NOVA_UAV_Guy

Premium Member

You think they'd figure it out...

Subscribership for video is flat (at best) or declining (at worst). Subscribership for broadband is growing.

And yet they still insist that "cord-cutters" aren't impacting their business, that Hulu and Netflix are inconsequential, and insist on keeping miserly control over as much content as possible...

Does anybody else see anything wrong with this picture? In many ways, wouldn't Comcast be much better off by embracing this trend and offering IPTV services of their own which could be set up to integrate easily with Windows Media Center, XBMC plugins, AppleTV, etc.? Intelligence... I guess I'm just expecting too much from their leadership...

ArrayList
DevOps
Premium Member
join:2005-03-19
Mullica Hill, NJ

ArrayList to newview

Premium Member

to newview

Re: bad link Karl

ohhhhhhhhhhhhh you went there lol

bbeesley
Richardson, TX

1 recommendation

bbeesley to NOVA_UAV_Guy

to NOVA_UAV_Guy

Re: You think they'd figure it out...

said by NOVA_UAV_Guy: