republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Google Bends to DMCA
view: topics flat text 
Post a:

Comments on news posted 2003-09-01 18:35:48: Apparently distributing copyrighted software is ok with Sharman Networks attorneys, provided the software isn't Kazaa. ..

page: 1 · 2

borborpa
Slipping Slowly Into Oblivion
Premium
join:2002-02-20
New Cumberland, PA
clubs:
·Speakeasy

Google is smarter than you think

When you do the search, it links to the complaint, which is public record, which lists all the sites they removed...so they are still, in a way, listed.
--
Testing, testing, 01 10 11 [AIM - BoyBandsMakeUGay]

totamak
And they call me nuts?

join:2000-10-24
Los Angeles, CA
·DSL EXTREME

This is hilarious!!

Oh my gawd!! Copyright infringement? Sharman sure has some big ones packing to complain about copyright infringement to Google. Of course Google will tell Sharman to stick it... well you know the rest

Da22in
Buck Fush

join:2002-06-10
Charlotte, NC
clubs:

who cares...

Those that use Kazaa Media Desktop are likely the same ones that keep AOL in business. They are also the ones that will get the subpoenas for sharing.
Kazaa Lite is great...period. If Sharman feels threatened then they should for their spyware-laden, pathetic attempt at cashing in on "free" software. So what if it's removed from Google? There ARE other search engines, although they give you a list of sites obviously viewed as the better ones by Sharman networks. This is RIAA-style.
--
"The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it." - George Bernard Shaw

KyleC
Nikon Guy
Premium
join:2001-12-13
Dallas, TX
·AT&T Southwest

They didn't remove the real site, only the sites

They didn't remove the real site, only the sites that had even more trojans installed and software to take over a users computer.

i am glad they did it. to protect the idiots out there that searched for kazaa lite and got a even more dangerous version of kazaa.

the real www.kazaalitekpp.com is still listed
--
Check out my website: www.KyleCoburn.com
:::www.SmilieWorX.com :: Why arent you curing cancer?
twiz20
Rip- You World

join:2002-04-09
DFDubb

Re: They didn't remove the real site, only the sites

quote:
"Hacked versions present a significant threat to the stability and security of users' computers by taking the certified Kazaa software and making unstable and potentially damaging modifications," Sharman wrote in a statement Wednesday

Does this mean Kazaa has built-in anti-virus software because they care so much about "the stability and security of users' computers". That's a bunch of crap.
Forums » Google Bends to DMCApage: 1 · 2


Friday, 27-Nov 22:52:47 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF