  Vvian Kalyss
join:2003-10-14 Stage 5.0 clubs:
| Drive-by-downloadings
As far as I can tell, their program 'pretends' to be some other piece of non-legit software that warez dumpster-divers search around the 'net for. Doesn't do anything except show a 'gotcha' message.
Now, if they were sending that file into legit software distro channels e.g. masquerading as, say, a RedHat iso -- but surely the tiny filesize should make you suspicious -- maybe they'd run into trouble. Looks like they're only seeding warez p2p nets, which is what the RIAA says it did anyway.
For what it's worth... you get what you pay for  -- " Her eyes were just the end of Hell-- / All pain, / Articulate " |
|
  AnonProxy Proxy of Anon Premium join:2001-05-12 ß | Perverted Justice Justice
YOu have to know these people are about as fcuked up as the guys on Perverted Justice.
Maybe these two morons are trying to get gigs with the RIAA. |
|
 bigskank
join:2002-06-07 Norman, OK
| reply to Vvian Kalyss Re: Drive-by-downloadings
Nothing like a couple of script kiddies who pretend to have a conscience.
The only thing that will make their idiocy even more humorous is when they receive a cease and desist letter from some company for sharing cracks (or at least appearing to), or when their ISP pulls the plug on them for using P2P. Or better yet, when they anger another group of kiddies and revenge is taken. Personally, I'd like to see a group of swashbuckling kiddies show up on their doorstep to keel haul them  |
|
  R4M0N Brazilian Soccer Ownz Joo
join:2000-10-04 Glen Allen, VA | Sad but true
The two are going to be script kiddied straight back to the stone age. Just wait and see. |
|
  Cougar311
join:2002-07-18 USA | reply to AnonProxy Re: Perverted Justice Justice
Waste of Time, Don't they have anything better to do, Like working? |
|
  digiblur Got Sipura? Premium join:2002-06-03 Louisiana | ROTFLMAO!!! nice!
ROTFLMAO!!!! That is so funny! |
|
 russotto
join:2000-10-05 Collegeville, PA | Yeah, that'll work
There's bunches of fake game ROM sites which fill your computer with viruses and spyware, yet ROM piracy goes on regardless. I don't think P2P will be knocked down by fake files either, even if malicious. |
|
 rmdir
join:2003-03-13 Chicago, IL | data
If it's a script, let's check the meta data on the document. Bet it originated at the MPAA... |
|
  gaforces United We Stand, Divided We Fall
join:2002-04-07 Santa Cruz, CA
1 edit | The tracking part
They say they arent going to send the info sent back to them to law enforcement, but why else would the program phone home? The people who dl that stuff should be reported, at the least for being stoopid  -- Fiber Optics is the future of high-speed internet access. Stop by the BBR Fiber Optic Forum |
|
  53059959 Temp banned from BBR more then anyone
join:2002-10-02 PwnZone | laf
they're just asking for some p*wnage course, any professional warez downloader knows a 240kb ut2k4 file is bogus |
|
  scavio Premium join:2001-07-14 Melmac clubs:  
| said by 53059959 : any professional warez downloader
Professional, huh? That isn't something I'd put on my business card. |
|
  gaforces United We Stand, Divided We Fall
join:2002-04-07 Santa Cruz, CA | reply to bigskank Re: Drive-by-downloadings
AFAIK script kiddies use other peoples programming skills and just click an exe file. I wouldnt put these guys in that category since they are writing this themselves. |
|
  Transmaster Don't Blame Me I Voted For Bill and Opus
join:2001-06-20 Cheyenne, WY
·Qwest.net
2 edits | too much time....
This is what a couple of geek teenagers do when they have ruined their brains watching to many episodes of the Teletubbies. In addition they are so obnoxoius and ugly they can't even get a date with an inflatable porno doll. Clif and Justin pulled the string on their new plastic princess, instead of a moan and groan their pnematic nooky deflated.  -- "Remember when hacking a loogy it comes not so much from the lungs but from the soul." |
|
  koitsu Premium join:2002-07-16 Mountain View, CA
| SIlly, but intruiging.
The motive behind this is something I agree with, but on the other hand I do consider it wasted time.
However, their site lists who ran the program, when it was run, what it was named, the users' IP, yadda yadda. I think such information is quite interesting to see, since based upon the time of fetch, you can get an idea of how something quickly can spread, regardless of how silly or pointless it may be.
With that said, I've got to give these two blokes kudos for at least doing something that's silly but intriguing to boot. -- Making life hard for others since 1977. |
|
  Doctor Four My other vehicle is a TARDIS Premium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to R4M0N Re: Sad but true
I was thinking along the very same lines when I read the exchange with them in the Security forum this morning. I was thinking that they are just asking to get their website DDoS'd off the web (or in the language of their 'fellow' script kiddies, packeted.) Hmmm, I wonder what script kiddies do to traitors in their midst? -- "Kayura or Badamon, whichever you are, you should know that I will never give up this battle. By the will of the Ancient, I shall succeed!" - Shuten (Anubis) from the Ronin Warriors. |
|
 Anon | reply to koitsu Re: SIlly, but intruiging.
said by koitsu : The motive behind this is something I agree with, but on the other hand I do consider it wasted time.
However, their site lists who ran the program, when it was run, what it was named, the users' IP, yadda yadda. I think such information is quite interesting to see, since based upon the time of fetch, you can get an idea of how something quickly can spread, regardless of how silly or pointless it may be.
With that said, I've got to give these two blokes kudos for at least doing something that's silly but intriguing to boot.
If its collecting information then it looks like SPYWARE to me. It's waste of time and serves no real purpose. Who knows what data does it send besides ip location etc.? I never seen the program but it would be interesting to packet sniff it. It also floods p2p networks with useless crap. Looks like those guys are out looking for publicity. -- Roses are #FF0000, violets are #0000FF. |
|
 Anon | Also
Also it appears they are hosting their website off RoadRunner cable. Is that even allowed?
walktheplank.ath.cx has address 24.31.106.207 207.106.31.24.IN-ADDR.ARPA domain name pointer -> gso31-106-207.triad.rr.com -- Roses are #FF0000, violets are #0000FF. |
|
 dave Premium,MVM join:2000-05-04 not in ohio | reply to Transmaster Re: too much time....
Nothing like substantive on-subject commentary, is there? |
|
  Chazza
@tiscali.co | Loada Bullshite
lol, any warez downloader, obviously knows not to use p2p and would also use a firewall!
whatta loada bull |
|
  KeepOnRockin Music Lover Forever Premium join:2002-11-08 Beaverton, OR
·Comcast
1 edit | Too Funny
These people had better not piss off the crackers & script kiddies of the internet or they may find their site DDOSed.
Who's gonna fall for those phoney files anyway? ROFL.
What a couple of wannabe vigilantes.  |
|