republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
24011
Share Topic
Posting?
Links: ·Hijack This logs? ·Panda Free Tools ·Vundo Removal
page: 1 · 2 · 3 · 4 ... 9 · 10 · 11
AuthorAll Replies


novaflare
The Dragon Was Here
Premium
join:2002-01-24
Barberton, OH

veloz scumware seen on comercial just now

Click for full size
normaly id never post a screen shot showing the url for scumware/virus but this was just on comercial tv so i think it best to allow the url to be viewed.
Heres what happened i seen a comercial for a site called veloz when i went there not intending on dling any thing i hit the scan now button and was prompted to dl something from stopsing i then clicked cancle of corse. then it prompt me to save a exe file as seen in my screen shot. At which time up pops the virus warning from avg resident sheild for a trojan. It could be a false positive i suppose but at any rate this is stop sign aka spyware. Prety nasty that this is being advertised on tv as a product to secure your system and is infact spyware that avg catches possibly worse as it was ided as a trojan.
--
new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php


NetFixer
Freedom is NOT free
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The 'Boro

PestPatrol identifies the download(s) from that site as popup ad generator and trojan downloader malware. Good thing for you that your AVS stopped it.


kpatz
MY HEAD A SPLODE
Premium
join:2003-06-13
Manchester, NH

2 edits

Click for full size
NOD32
NOD32 detects it as well.

So now we have to tell people to watch out for URLs in TV commercials?

P.S. eTrust and NAV (Yahoo) don't detect it. KAV does.


dadkins
Can you do Blu?
Premium,MVM
join:2003-09-26
Hercules, CA
kudos:18

1 edit

reply to novaflare
May I ask, what channel had this commercial?

EDIT: when I click on "Scan Now" it takes me to eAcceleration's Stop Sign - Computer Protection Service. Nothing tries to download. Hmmm.



NetFixer
Freedom is NOT free
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The 'Boro
Reviews:
·Vonage
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast
·AT&T Southeast

reply to novaflare
dadkins,

Possibly you are using a non-IE based browser or your browser security settings are set to high enough to block active-x downloads. I would expect you to see an 'error' message telling you that the attempted download failed, but that may be browser/version specific.

Another possibility is that your browser security settings are set to low and the download proceeded in the background without your noticing it?



novaflare
The Dragon Was Here
Premium
join:2002-01-24
Barberton, OH

reply to dadkins

said by dadkins:
May I ask, what channel had this commercial?

EDIT: when I click on "Scan Now" it takes me to eAcceleration's Stop Sign - Computer Protection Service. Nothing tries to download. Hmmm.

Fox news network
As for the nothing tries to download set your browser to allow popups and java script.
--
new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php


novaflare
The Dragon Was Here
Premium
join:2002-01-24
Barberton, OH

reply to NetFixer

said by NetFixer:
PestPatrol identifies the download(s) from that site as popup ad generator and trojan downloader malware. Good thing for you that your AVS stopped it.

yeh avg is godly
I use eztrust as back up not turned off avgs res scanner to dl and scan thought but im sure the results would be the same.
--
new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php


dadkins
Can you do Blu?
Premium,MVM
join:2003-09-26
Hercules, CA
kudos:18

reply to novaflare
Fox News?!? ...and my browser IS set to allow Java Scripts. Let me try without the popup blocker active...



dadkins
Can you do Blu?
Premium,MVM
join:2003-09-26
Hercules, CA
kudos:18

Click for full size
Every button/link on that site takes me here...no downloads, no trojans.


novaflare
The Dragon Was Here
Premium
join:2002-01-24
Barberton, OH

said by dadkins:
Every button/link on that site takes me here...no downloads, no trojans.

hmm
Maybe something in slim browser then
Im useing moz firebird 0.7 with tab extensions all tab fetures enabled.
--
new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php


Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:5
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

reply to dadkins
"Every button/link on that site takes me here...no downloads, no trojans."

Their not Drive by DL's.
NOD32 flagged every DL link I clicked on that page.
--
Dave said "By the way, 4294967295 is just another way to write -1".


kpatz
MY HEAD A SPLODE
Premium
join:2003-06-13
Manchester, NH

reply to novaflare
The download is triggered by javascript embedded on the page. The download starts automatically 2 seconds after the page is displayed. This happens in Firefox, I don't dare hit the page in IE.

Of course, if you have Javascript disabled, the download won't occur. You will get the standard download prompt (run from current location or save to disk).
--
Robert Tappan Morris, Jr., got six months in jail for crashing 10% of the computers that Bill Gates made $100 million crashing last weekend.



dadkins
Can you do Blu?
Premium,MVM
join:2003-09-26
Hercules, CA
kudos:18

2 edits

Click for full size
I have an IE based browser with everything enabled. I even still have the page opened...nothing.
EDIT: Popup blocker is disabled.


Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:5
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

I just tried too in IE, must be either SpywareBlaster or a hostfile stopping the DL.
Maybe something nice to be said for IE. Firefox would have let it thru if not for NOD32
--
Dave said "By the way, 4294967295 is just another way to write -1".



Doctor Four
My other vehicle is a TARDIS
Premium
join:2000-09-05
Dallas, TX

1 edit

reply to novaflare
Eacceleration/Stop-Sign is another one of those bogus
anti spyware products that borders on being malware - in
fact I daresay it is malware. They're in the MVPS
(and possibly also HPGuru) hosts files for a good reason.
You'll find Veloz.com in the eAcceleration section, about
halfway down.

And to think FoxNews is broadcasting them as a company worth
trusting with one's security or privacy...
--
"Kayura or Badamon, whichever you are, you should know that I will never give up this battle. By the will of the Ancient, I shall succeed!" - Shuten (Anubis) from the Ronin Warriors.



Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:5

"And to think FoxNews is broadcasting them as a company worth
trusting with one's security or privacy..."


I was guessing it was on MSNBC.
--
Dave said "By the way, 4294967295 is just another way to write -1".



R4M0N
Brazilian Soccer Ownz Joo

join:2000-10-04
Glen Allen, VA

reply to novaflare
I get a security warning in IE asking if I want to download the activex plugin from E-Accelerator. Hell if I'm clicking "yes".

I saw the commercial too, and went there about 3 hours ago to check it out cause I know some of my friends will ask me about that place.



habya
Premium
join:2003-05-29
Huntsville, AL
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 edit

reply to novaflare
Do you remember which commericial it actually was, specifics wise? Was it just one for Veloz itself? I plan on writing an email to Fox News and hopefully if enough people alert them to it they will stop showing it, many unprotected computers have probably already been infected by it which is not a very good thing.
--
HABYA HABYA HABYA TEAR DOWN THE HEM STALKS EAT UP THE OLD MAN AND WOMAN AND CARRY OFF THE LITTLE GIRL MAY YOU DIE ALONE



sig
Premium
join:2001-05-05

reply to novaflare
Yeah, I recall there was a connection between veloz and eacceleration. I recently saw an ad for Stop Sign on cable and my jaw dropped (although they'd reportedly been advertising on TV I'd never seen one before).

It's all about advertising dollars... Caveat emptor.



novaflare
The Dragon Was Here
Premium
join:2002-01-24
Barberton, OH

reply to habya

said by habya:
Do you remember which commericial it actually was, specifics wise? Was it just one for Veloz itself? I plan on writing an email to Fox News and hopefully if enough people alert them to it they will stop showing it, many unprotected computers have probably already been infected by it which is not a very good thing.

Well it was advertiseing veloz anti virus "your computer could be infected now go to www.veloz.com/free for a free scan"
--
new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php
page: 1 · 2 · 3 · 4 ... 9 · 10 · 11

Sunday, 27-May 10:20:14 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics