republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
11994
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Hijack This logs? ·Panda Free Tools ·Vundo Removal
page: 1 · 2 · 3 · 4
AuthorAll Replies


Webcop

@mindspring.com

reply to TongSama

Re: $9.95 scam.. check your bank statements.

Do you use TurboTax? Intuit reported approximately 3-4 months ago that thier computer was stolen with all of the credit card numbers in the database. Once the thieves get a credit card number the first 8 numbers will be the same depending on your bank and which area you live. Then all they do is keep trying other numbers until one is succesful which was yours.

witelite9

join:2003-06-16
Corpus Christi, TX

reply to gsglassm
Same here, $9.95 from debit charge card on 10/7/04, never used, must be the bank, USOFTWEBSYS ain't getting my $(Cause i HAVE NONE!) Those Retards!''

File a Complaint@
»rn.ftc.gov/pls/dod/wsolcq$.start···ODE=PU01



DSL_Steve
Premium
join:2003-11-28
Woodbury, CT

reply to Webcop

said by Webcop:
Do you use TurboTax? Intuit reported approximately 3-4 months ago that thier computer was stolen with all of the credit card numbers in the database.

It had nothing to do with TurboTax users.

quote:

Inuit spokeswoman Julie Miller said the records on the PC contain personal data, including credit card details, for about 47,000 customers who purchased ItsDeductible products between December 2002 and November 2003.

»news.com.com/Intuit+warns+of+cre···821.html



Mr Web

@mindspring.com

One software that is owned by Intuit is named "Its Deductible". I received a letter, which is still in my possession, approimately 3-4 months ago from Intuit indicating that their computer was stolen which contained credit card numbers from previous purchasers and they would provide a free 3 month credit tracking if desired. I cancelled my card then but the thieves had an excellent database to begin their search into credit cards.



anon1234

@comcast.net

»www.absolute-soft.com/index.php?···dex.html

Here is the site that charged me $9.95 last week. Citibank was quick to dispute and credit me. However, I still can not figure out how they got my card number.


Sharkeef

join:2004-10-20
Memphis, TN

reply to TongSama
I've got a $9.95 charge on my B of A Visa from RN*US on 10/13/04. I suspect its a scam charge. I can't find any posts anywhere with that merchant name so, it may be a new one.


randyw01

join:2004-11-05
Oakland, CA

Perhaps these charges are being done by dictionary attacks?

I was hit by this absolute-soft in September; i've contacted my credit card company, IFCCFBI, internic.net ( internet registrar ), EV1 ( ISP that hosts absolute-soft ), and FTC ( ID theft ). What's left to do?



tmcb82
Premium
join:2002-04-16
Columbus, OH

1 edit

reply to Sharkeef

said by Sharkeef:


I've got a $9.95 charge on my B of A Visa from RN*US on 10/13/04. I suspect its a scam charge. I can't find any posts anywhere with that merchant name so, it may be a new one.
RN*xxx (the xxx changes based on the RN partner the service is being provided for) is Real Networks merchant name.

hbkh


Prairie Dog
Here's Looking At You Kid
Premium
join:2000-08-09
Langhorne, PA

reply to TongSama
Here is another little outfit that does a similar thing, though apparently legit. Many sites, Flowers.com, Fandango, and others have an agreement with this site. If you don't uncheck a box at the bottom of your order, you are hit up for this. Every month they charge your credit card, or checking account for 8 bucks. Why these people are allowed to stay in business is beyond me. The merchants are of no help, your credit card company is however. »www.badbusinessbureau.com/result···t=Search


RandallW

join:2001-11-15
Oakland, CA

About the suspicion that Paypal's account info was stolen or sold.....I do have a Paypal account but I NEVER added a credit card to my profile.


Sharkeef

join:2004-10-20
Memphis, TN

reply to tmcb82
Ah-hah! Thanks for the info. NFL.com radio trial subscription which, I forgot to cancel before they started charging me.


uff da

join:2004-11-14
Wichita, KS

1 edit

Sooo does this mean I should never use my cc on any internet transaction or are there any good pay now type services like YowCow and PayPal...

P.S. does ebay even take checks or money orders still or is it all paypal.

Oh and my brother was charged 5.17 when he bought something at newegg.com. Apparently others where charged this fee too because someone had actually broke into them or something of the sort. It's ok though the charge was reversed. Dang scammers.



METOOOMG

@ny325.east.verizon.n

reply to TongSama
Hello guys i got this shit alsOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

page: 1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Sunday, 27-May 06:24:56 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics