spc
Search similar:

uniqs
MatthewV
join:2004-07-18

4 edits

MatthewV

Trying to understand enabling/using Syslog Server

Before I ask a question on a forum, I try my best to research the topic.
My SMC Router has a menu where I can choose to enable the automatic downloading of the Router log.

I'm new to networking and routers; I've tried to research this on several forums and in newsgroups using google and about all that I have learned/come up with is that in order to make this work, I'm supposed to install 3rd-party software.
There's a freeware software program called "Kiwi" that is frequently recommended here and elsewhere.
What surprised me is that it appears that this is about the only such software program that I've seen mentioned; i.e. there doesn't seem to be anything else to choose from.

There are several aspects about this that I need help with.
1) From this site ( »www.kiwisyslog.com/softw ··· ad%20Now ), there is a HUGE variety of stuff to download -- which program (and which version of it) am I supposed to choose/download ?
Am I supposed to choose something from here instead ?

2) As you can see in the picture up above, I can have the log downloaded to a specified server IP address.
I have several computers in my network at home. Is the IP address that is being asked for the interal IP address of one of my networked computers ?
If I change my mind about which computer I want the log downloaded to, will I have to install this "Kiwi" program on each additional computer ?
And in the discussion on this forum, I can
quote:
"What you can also do is enable E-MAIL ALERT CONFIGURATION, when the log is full it will send an e-mail containing the full log, hence you can start collecting e-mails containing pieces of log."