suntken34
'twas an inside job
Premium Member
join:2002-09-02
Sheffield, IA

suntken34

Premium Member

[Tech] 300D and EF 55-200mm II USM

Has anybody used this combo? Well I bought the Canon EF 55-200mm II USM after I read Rick Sammon talking about at the "Canon Digital Learning Center" »www.photoworkshop.com/ca ··· dex.html
Anyway, I like to take outdoor shots and want to be able to get some good action shots at sporting events and I don't know if this is what I should have. I'm also getting into doing landscape photography. As you can probably tell, I am pretty new to this stuff. I actually just bought an EF 75-300 III USM with the plans of selling the 55-200 but I'm not sure what to do. I've read some mixed reviews about the 75-300 and now I'm stuck. So far, I've gone by the money-saving method, but as I've read from the plethora of posts regarding lenses, it might be more important to spend the extra money on a good lense. Any insight would be appreciated . I realize I must sound like an idiot. Heh

jester121
Premium Member
join:2003-08-09
Lake Zurich, IL

1 recommendation

jester121

Premium Member

Re: 300D and EF 55-200mm II USM

Lots of folks argue that you should spend lots of time researching, decide on focal lengths, then go buy the best lens on the market. For people that have been avid photogs for a long time, I guess I'd agree with that. If you're going to end up spending the money anyhow, save up and spend it once and you'll be ahead in the long run.

Let's face it - most people, even those who own dSLRs, don't spend a bunch of time on the internet talking about their hobby. They're out using their cameras instead.