republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
165
Share Topic
Post a:
Post a:
AuthorAll Replies

kpatz
MY HEAD A SPLODE
Premium
join:2003-06-13
Manchester, NH

And what are the casualties?

As in, how much legitimate mail was blocked in order to block "more" spam? I always hear of people on AOL not receiving legit mail from people because their spam filters block it.
--
SMTP: Spam and Malware Transfer Protocol. Also used on rare occasion to transmit e-mail messages.


dadkins
Can you do Blu?
Premium,MVM
join:2003-09-26
Hercules, CA
kudos:18

said by kpatz:

As in, how much legitimate mail was blocked in order to block "more" spam? I always hear of people on AOL not receiving legit mail from people because their spam filters block it.
Same here! A friend uses AOL, and their "New" spam blocking "tool" was not allowing *ANY* email to be delivered!
Yeah, I guess that would cut down on spam...
--
No Firefox here, move along!

bren9474

join:2004-09-28
Pearl River, NY

reply to kpatz
Having millions of e mail addresses stolen is a great way to reduce spam! It's only a matter of time before employees of other ISP's do the same, to reduce spam of course!



stupidaol

@LosAngeles.savvis.ne

reply to dadkins
Our fortune 500 company gets our domain blocked every few weeks because of this nonsense. Everytime, you have to open a new case with AOL and be added to the whitelist. But the stupid thing is that they don't tell you that you have been removed from the whitelist and put in their spam list so the process begins again. This is just nonsense. My company is a 2 Billion dollar company and we get put on their spam list so that someone can't send emails to their buddies and they complain.



Jafo232
You Can't Spell Democrat Without Rat.
Premium
join:2002-10-17
Boonville, NY

reply to kpatz
Well as one who has an AOL account I can testify that SPAM has indeed gone down, and I get about one false positive in my SPAM box every six months or so.

Their blacklisting methods are a bit rough. I have a mailing list on one of my sites that users sign up to that sends no spam or advertisements or anything else, just site news, and someone labelled one of the messages as SPAM and they blacklisted the entire server. Mind you the list has been around for about 5 years (users subscribing and unsubscribing) and is still less than 10,000 users. Mail is sent to the list once a week and it still got hit by AOL. Even if it was SPAM, that type of blacklisting is a bit extreme I would think.

Anyway, SPAM still does get through, but if I had to guess on a percentage, I would say about 20% of my email is SPAM, where it used to be closer to 50-60%.

If users are getting all mail blocked, chances are they checked the box to "Block all except these addresses" option, or have altered another setting to muck it up.

Compared to my Optimuum Online email account, AOL definitely does a better job.
--
Register Your Gaming Clan at Clan-Council.com



Doctor Four
My other vehicle is a TARDIS
Premium
join:2000-09-05
Dallas, TX

2 edits

reply to stupidaol
There's a good reason why AOL is blocking savvis.net. They
are hosting quite a few notorious spammers.

Time to find another domain host. Or if you are representing
savvis.net, then you need to stop hosting spammers. Take a
look at the SBL - your provider has 41 entries, including
Scott Richter's company, OptInRealBig. Here's what they
have to say:

said by Spamhaus.org:
"Found 41 SBL listings for IPs under the responsibility of savvis.net"
14 of those are ROKSO entries. That is a serious sign of
trouble. Need more evidence? Google Groups for NANAS and
savvis.net:

»groups-beta.google.com/group/new···is+group

And there's this from one of our Stopping Spam forum
regulars back in October, who says that savvis.net seems
to be signing up new ROKSO spammers:

»Savvis.net spamhaus to nuke spammers

--
"Kayura or Badamon, whichever you are, you should know that I will never give up this battle. By the will of the Ancient, I shall succeed!" - Shuten (Anubis) from the Ronin Warriors.


Trakker8
Danger
Premium
join:2003-01-12
ß

reply to stupidaol
Savvis= spammer central...find a new host.
--
»www.cqbarms.com



LordMalak

join:2003-07-02
Brazil

reply to stupidaol
Sounds like you ARE a crybaby spammer yourself. You use Savvis, you keep getting blacklisted, and you posted anonymously.

Eat spam and die.


Sunday, 27-May 14:45:37 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics