spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

danny1123

@dsl.snfc21.pacbell.n

[PHONE] RINGS ONLY FOR 1/2 A SECOND!

I'm not sure if this is a problem with DSL. I've been using my SBC DSL for a few years now and never had any problems. Right now, whenever my phone rings, it only rings for half a second. People claim that when they call they get all this static after the phone was picked up. I tried unplugging every device from my wall outlets and calling my house phone. It didn't even ring, all I heard was this static. Does anyone know what's going on with my phones or phone lines? I've had DSL for a few years with the same set-up and never had this problem before. The internet is still working fine, it's just that when people call me, I can't answer. I hear my phone ring for half a second and then there's nothing. People on the other end of the line hear static. Thanks for any help in advance.

shadowrose64
Premium
join:2003-11-02
Pittsburg, KS
I noted you said you had unplugged every device, so this probably won't relate...but just in case, do you get the DISH network service through SBC? I had the same exact symptoms when the receiver was hooked to the phone line. Come to think of it, we determined that the faulty remote plug-in phone jack they'd used to connect the receiver was the culprit. Anyway, just a thought.

cfm117

join:2004-02-13
Woodland Hills, CA
reply to danny1123