pro7070
BJ "The Prodigy" Penn
Premium Member
join:2002-06-28
Inman, SC

pro7070

Premium Member

Windows Update error 0x80072EE2 Sygate Personal Pr

I have tried Sygate in the past on another machine and got this same error 0x80072EE2 when trying to do windows Update. Trying Sygate again on a new computer it does the same exact thing. I really like the Sygate Firewall but not being able to connect to Windows Update is irratating.
I have tried reregistering dll's as found on this page »[XP Pro] Windows Update v5 hangs at start?
I would like to try the advanced rule solution here »Firewall settings may interfere with WU V5
but I'm a noob and need help on how to set it up. I really like the firewall and it suits my needs really well other than this really annoying bug. Uninstalling Sygate elimates the problem and I have checked allowing everything everytime windows update asks for something. Any ideas?

dp
MVM
join:2000-12-08
Greensburg, PA

dp

MVM

Re: Windows Update error 0x80072EE2 Sygate Persona

You may find some help on this at »forums.sygate.com/vb/sho ··· s+update
TheWiseGuy
Dog And Butterfly
MVM
join:2002-07-04
East Stroudsburg, PA

TheWiseGuy to pro7070

MVM

to pro7070
Try this -

Double click the icon

Look for Generic Host Process for Win32 Services

Right Click it,

Click Allow.

Doctor Four
My other vehicle is a TARDIS
Premium Member
join:2000-09-05
Dallas, TX

Doctor Four to pro7070

Premium Member

to pro7070

Re: Windows Update error 0x80072EE2 Sygate Personal Pr

I'm at work right now - I'll post the Advanced Rule I
made when I get home, but IIRC, it was to allow
Generic Host Processes as noted above, but to block
selected ports (135 & 1025, but not 443, which is what
WU uses).

pro7070
BJ "The Prodigy" Penn
Premium Member
join:2002-06-28
Inman, SC

pro7070

Premium Member

Re: Windows Update error 0x80072EE2 Sygate Persona

Thanks for trying to help guys.
dp- I tried everything on that link and nothing worked
Shuten Doji- I tried your tips as well