republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
7082
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Hijack This logs? ·Panda Free Tools ·Vundo Removal
page: 1 · 2 · 3
AuthorAll Replies


NICK ADSL UK
Premium,MVM
join:2004-02-22
kudos:14
Reviews:
·Zen Internet

1 edit

Merijn Warning! Please Read

Warning! Please Read

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
merijn

April22, 2005:
Just a short note on the domain HIJACK-THIS.NET: this is not mine! It has been registered by XoftSpy (who are also on the Rogue Antispyware List on SpywareWarrior.com) and they are luring people into downloading their software believing it is HijackThis. Also, they have registered a few AdWords at Google leading to the same result. I have contacted them about this and received no reply (how surprising). Google can't do much about it since there is no copyright being breached. We'll see where this goes.
In the meantime, if you want to download any of my programs, the official domain is and always will be »www.merijn.org/
--
Official Member of the ASAP

Wilder's Security Forum Admin



Buddel
If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Premium
join:2004-03-06
EU
kudos:3

Thank you very much for the heads-up, NICK ADSL UK See Profile.



jabarnut
Light Years Away
Premium,MVM
join:2005-01-22
Galaxy M31
kudos:2

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Boy...that's bad.
Like merijn said, a Google Search may sucker a lot of people in that don't know any better.

I REALLY can't stand some of these slugs.

Thanks for the info.
--
I had a life once.....now I have a Computer and a Modem.


rgillis70
Premium
join:2002-12-30
Herndon, VA

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Yeah they are doing a "sponsored link" deal on Google.

One day...all these companies will get what is coming to them!

Thanks for the heads up!


eyespy6

join:2002-12-09
Canada

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Thanks for the heads-up Nick!
Greatly appreciated!

Regards,
bill;)



jbob
Reach Out and Touch Someone
Premium
join:2004-04-26
Little Rock, AR

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Now we need hackers to test their defenses! lol



cacroll
Eventually, Prozac becomes normal
Premium
join:2002-07-25
Martinez, CA

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Thank you, Nick!



pcdebb
RIP dadkins
Premium
join:2000-12-03
Brandon, FL
kudos:4

reply to NICK ADSL UK
hmmm, i'm curious. what does the fake file do by chance? I'm asking because I just came from a thread of someone posting a log, and the file running for hjt was named "Hijack-This.exe", and I've never seen it named like that before (my exact version isnt named like that)
--
babbling | mvm



jaykaykay
4 Ever Young
Premium,MVM
join:2000-04-13
Scottsdale, AZ
kudos:19
Reviews:
·Speakeasy

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Fascinating how there's someone waiting around the corner to create havoc with something that is so good. Nobody should have to worry about people doing this kind of thing, but everyone does...especially if they're trying to be helpful to others and make the Internet safe. XoftSpy ought to be ashamed of themselves.



John2g
Qui Tacet Consentit
Premium
join:2001-08-10
England

said by jaykaykay:

XoftSpy ought to be ashamed of themselves.
They won't be though.
--
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.


cacroll
Eventually, Prozac becomes normal
Premium
join:2002-07-25
Martinez, CA

reply to jaykaykay

said by jaykaykay:

XoftSpy ought to be ashamed of themselves.


Their type knows no shame.
--
Cheers,

Chuck

inTulsa
Premium
join:2002-02-24

reply to NICK ADSL UK

That domain is another candidate for HOSTS file blocking. As shown, the same web server also runs other sites that aren't worth ever going to.
»whois.sc/hijack-this.net

eburger68
Premium,MVM
join:2001-04-28

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Nick:

Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I have contacted Paretologic directly to get the affiliate who is behind Hijack-This.net taken care of.

Best,

Eric L. Howes


B
Premium,MVM
join:2000-10-28


As of this moment it's still the top "Sponsored Link" result for a Google query on "hijack this".

But through the wondrousness of Google, none of the REAL results on the first Google page mention it.

Another reason to ignore ads, even from Google, for better or worse.

-- B
--
In a realm outside causality and function



Blue2
Premium
join:2004-04-14
France
kudos:1

reply to NICK ADSL UK

said by NICK ADSL UK:

Warning! Please Read

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
merijn
Google can't do much about it since there is no copyright being breached. We'll see where this goes.
In the meantime, if you want to download any of my programs, the official domain is and always will be »www.merijn.org/
For whatever it may be worth...

What about contacting the Attorney General's office as well as the FTC since maybe this would be covered by laws against deceptive advertising or misleading business practices.

On the Google front, I would think that they could decide without a copyright being breached to just not accept paid advertising that they think is duplicitous.


gracie7
Geek Goddess
Premium
join:2003-07-15
confusion

reply to NICK ADSL UK

said by NICK ADSL UK:

Warning! Please Read
what a sin! reminds me of the many hysterical phone calls from noobs i had to field when they, taking to heart suggestions to run anti-spyware software, went to a site that used the adaware name instead of the less-intuitive lavasoft to download adaware, and ended up installing a POS spyware program instead. i see adaware.com now redirects to lavasoft, but i believe at one time it didn't.

don't know the ins and outs of the process or how difficult, but it would seem to me that any program develope ought to trademark the name of the program and then spring for the $7 or so to register the obvious domains. i mean, seriously, what noob would even think that adaware.com (or hijack-this.net) wasn't the legit site, and know that lavasoft.de and merijn.org are the legit ones?
--
graciella! "not tonight dear, I have DSL."
Creating SuperOrganizations Worldwide
Creating & Hosting SuperSites Worldwide


mers2
Premium,MVM
join:2004-03-20
USA
kudos:8

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Xoftspy was taken off Eric's list for cleaning up their act. This behavior should get it relisted. Thnaks for the heads up Nick.
--
God put me on this Earth to accomplish a certain number of things. Right now, I am so far behind I will never die.



santy
Don't Follow Me, I'M Lost Too
Premium,MVM
join:2001-06-10
Wilmington, IL
kudos:1

reply to B

said by B:

As of this moment it's still the top "Sponsored Link" result for a Google query on "hijack this".-- B
It's no longer showing up on the first page of Google when doing a query such as what you used.. Merjin's site is listed as tops and the top sponsered link is to pctools .com

of course I used the quotes as shown in my query. without the quotes Merjin's site is third one down.. Thought I'd post a little update on this... Rick
--
ya'll better be good. Santyclaws is always watchin'!!!


jaykaykay
4 Ever Young
Premium,MVM
join:2000-04-13
Scottsdale, AZ
kudos:19

reply to jaykaykay
Isn't it a shame that there's so much lack of shame a much else today. God, there are days when I really feel old and long for the days when I thought it still existed...way back when.



skyroket

join:2001-06-11
Colorado, US

reply to NICK ADSL UK
Evidently someone's a cat-lover on this server, too...right next to a folder with a crapload of google ads.

»0-computer.info/cats/

lol

Thanks for heads up, Nick.
--
These guys are cool; and by cool, I mean totally sweet.


Sunday, 27-May 17:31:52 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics