tup
Premium Member
join:2001-01-15
Port Elgin, ON

tup to Wildcatboy

Premium Member

to Wildcatboy

Re: IE Security Settings

WCB--Txs for giving us your settings. I have been playing around with this stuff for several months from info I read on DSLReports which includes many of your posts but I have never seen anything nearly as complete as what you have posted in your screenshot. As you mentioned, there is sometimes a downside to having things like Active-X disabled but I have gotten fairly adept at just going to the Security drop-down and re-checking Active-X if I need it for something specific.
I have two questions which I'm sure you could help me to understand. First is about the Trusted zone. Everything in there is » So even though I put MSUpdates and DSLReports in the Trusted zone, when I go to those sites, they show (on the bottom right hand corner of the screen) as Internet zone. Therefore, I expect the settings I have in Trusted zones don't work. In other words, I can't get updates from the MSUpdate site unless I have Active-x enabled in the Internet zone. So, how does having less secure settings in the Trusted zone help you except when you go to do your banking etc where you actually enter a » Trusted zone.
My second question is simple--how did you do the screen shot post. Did you take several and use a graphics program to combine them?

OzarkMan$
join:2000-12-22
Ozark Mtns.

OzarkMan$

tup....try using just http NOT https !

R2
R Not
MVM
join:2000-09-18
Long Beach, CA

R2

MVM

Click for full size
Gotcha, Oz!! It is not quite that easy. You have to remove the above check first.
____

Ignore the fact that I have DSLR list twice on my list. That is not necessary...
[text was edited by author 2001-08-24 21:07:50]

Wahoone
join:2001-06-27
Wahoo, NE

Wahoone to OzarkMan$

to OzarkMan$

IE Security Options Links by Ozarkman

OzarkMan tke711 pointed out a thread you originally started that has some great links
»Internet Explorer Security Options, Part 1-6

R2