 suziPremium join:2004-05-01 3 edits | reply to Phil BK
Re: spywareno! For those of you trying to get rid of this thing, follow the steps outlined here:
»Security »I think my computer is infected or hijacked. What should I do?
If anyone knows, or thinks they know, where they got this, I'd be most interested to know. Also, when you check for other junk, I'd like to know what else shows up, for example, on an Ad-Aware scan, or any anti-spyware scan for that matter.
Edit to add new info I found while doing a blog entry on this. Here's the whois.sc domain registration info.
»www.whois.sc/spywareno.com
Registrant: Alexandre +7.0955935182 Petrov" Leninsky str 31 19 Moscow,Moscow,RU 194923""
Domain Name:spywareno.com Record last updated at 2005-04-09 09:42:35 Record created on 2004/7/23 Record expired on 2005/7/23
Domain servers in listed order: ns1.dns-diy.com ns2.dns-diy.com
»www.whois.sc/69.50.166.196
OrgName: Atrivo OrgID: ATRIV Address: 200 Paul Avenue City: San Francisco StateProv: CA PostalCode: 94124 Country: US
NetRange: 69.50.160.0 - 69.50.191.255 CIDR: 69.50.160.0/19 NetName: ATRIVOTECHNOLOGIES NetHandle: NET-69-50-160-0-1 Parent: NET-69-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Allocation NameServer: MAIL.ATRIVO.COM NameServer: PAVEL.ATRIVO.COM Does anyone else think this smells like it might be CoolWebSearch related?
SpywareNo! is also showing up in HijackThis logs around the net, which is a very bad sign.
Stirring the Google joice - blogged here:
»netrn.net/spywareblog/archives/2···ypareno/
Right now this thread is the top Google search result for SpywareNo. If you look at the links that Google brings up, many look like *very* sleazy sites. |