
how-to block ads
|
|
Share Topic  |
 |
|
|
|
 Reviews:
·Mediacom
| reply to nonone1
Re: https://www.optoutprescreen.com legit? Optoutprescreen.com is a joint venture between Equifax Information Services, LLC, Experian Information Solutions, Inc., Innovis Data Solutions, Inc., and TransUnion, LLC (collectively the "Consumer Credit Reporting Companies").
»www.optoutprescreen.com/privacy.html
Why don't you contact some of these companies and see if this is a real deal? -- Get Firefox! | |  BlackbirdBuilt for SpeedPremium join:2005-01-14 Fort Wayne, IN kudos:2 Reviews:
·Frontier Communi..
| said by Anonymous:Optoutprescreen.com is a joint venture between Equifax Information Services, LLC, Experian Information Solutions, Inc., Innovis Data Solutions, Inc., and TransUnion, LLC (collectively the "Consumer Credit Reporting Companies"). Uhmm... let's see if I've got this straight. To opt OUT of advertising solicitations offering to set up some account you never sought, you are supposed to provide your Social Security number - a number which is legally NEVER to be used except for personal identification within functioning financial accounts to track income-tax witholding? Even if - and especially if - this website is legitimate, such a practice is reprehensible, if not outright illegal!  -- If God wanted us to work with electrons, He'd make them big enough to see... | |  pcdebbRIP dadkinsPremium join:2000-12-03 Brandon, FL kudos:4 | reply to Anonymous said by Anonymous:Optoutprescreen.com is a joint venture between Equifax Information Services, LLC, Experian Information Solutions, Inc., Innovis Data Solutions, Inc., and TransUnion, LLC (collectively the "Consumer Credit Reporting Companies"). » www.optoutprescreen.com/privacy.htmlWhy don't you contact some of these companies and see if this is a real deal? I call bullsh*t. I went to the websites of the credit bureaus, I see no reference to this place. and it asks for a ssn as part of opting out of someting.
Optoutprescreen.com is a joint venture between Equifax Information Services, LLC, Experian Information Solutions, Inc., Innovis Data Solutions, Inc., and TransUnion, LLC (collectively the "Consumer Credit Reporting Companies"). Opt Out's primary purpose is to accept and process requests from consumers to "Opt-Out" of pre-approved offers of credit or insurance. If you have previously completed a request to Opt-Out and would like to Opt-In, you may also complete your request on this website. when you get these "pre-approved" apps, they dont know your ssn, you're not really even preapproved (I learned about this the hard way) -- babbling | mvm | |  Reviews:
·Mediacom
1 edit | Well he wanted to know if this site is a legitimate one. I just told him to contact the credit reporting companies mentioned on their privacy page. If this is not a real deal that site will be down in no time (if it's hosted somewhere where US laws are respected).
-- Get Firefox! | |  TheWiseGuyDog And ButterflyPremium,MVM join:2002-07-04 Yonkers, NY kudos:1 Reviews:
·Optimum Online
| Well according to the BBB of Spokane Washington and a lot of other Web sites, it is a valid org sponsored by the Credit companies you pointed out. Calling them certainly should confirm that.
»www.spokane.bbb.org/onlinenewsle···ection=4
»www.google.com/search?biw=&hl=en···e+Search
It's even listed on a congressman's site
»lamarsmith.house.gov/News.asp?Fo···l&ID=646 -- Dog and Butterfly | |  QumahlinNever Enough TimePremium,MVM join:2001-10-05 united state | reply to Blackbird said by Blackbird:said by Anonymous:Optoutprescreen.com is a joint venture between Equifax Information Services, LLC, Experian Information Solutions, Inc., Innovis Data Solutions, Inc., and TransUnion, LLC (collectively the "Consumer Credit Reporting Companies"). Uhmm... let's see if I've got this straight. To opt OUT of advertising solicitations offering to set up some account you never sought, you are supposed to provide your Social Security number - a number which is legally NEVER to be used except for personal identification within functioning financial accounts to track income-tax witholding? Even if - and especially if - this website is legitimate, such a practice is reprehensible, if not outright illegal! Yes, but bottom line it is done. Try getting a credit card, loan, anything financial without giving your social security number....it's not gonna happen.
By law you don't have to give your SS number other then to the federal government and your employer for tax purposes, but thats it...you don't HAVE to give it to them. They are still allowed to ask, and they are still allowed to deny you for not giving it.
So no it's not illegal of them to ask for such information. Also the fact that the site is run by the credit agencies means that even if you didn't give it to them they could easily obtain it from your first name last name and address. -- Forum Posts:6500 | | |
|
|