republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Share Topic
Posting?
Links: ·Phish Tracker ·Anti-Phishing Work Group ·Avoid Phishing
AuthorAll Replies

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
kudos:9

reply to splicesite

Re: Trouble Bubble LLC Collegeville?

said by splicesite:

said by dbeatson:

Reply I got back from Everyone's Internet, sounds like they dont care if their customers are ripping people off, I would encourage everyone to write them and the Texas Attorney General, it's a shame a company like this values money over what is right and what is wrong. In this case this company is as guilty as the poerson commiting the crime, they are supporting and enabling an ongoing criminal enterprise you and are as guilty as the person running this operation

David
Dude, do you realize that Everyone's Internet (ev1servers.net) is one of the largest hosting providers in the world? If they said they are doing an internal investigation, take them at their word. They do not screw around.
While I agree with your characterization of EV1, Splicesite's frustration is well founded, and it does appear that they do "screw around". There are an abundance of reports that the devbill group and their multiple incarnations have been operating these credit card frauds for at least 2 years, and a healthy portion of that on EV1. During this time the card scam has operated uninterrupted by either law enforcement, ISPs, merchant Banking system, or VISA/MC. It is now a full fledged industry operating freely, and the associated costs are passed on to consumers.

At any given time there are several dozen lookalike sites with cloned names that disappear as the heat comes on, and new groups replace them in an assembly line like process.

A historical example of this fraud was archived by a legit company, North Wind Computer and Design, as they were inundated with complaints because their website: »www.northwindnh.com/fraud.htm was mistaken for the card fraud site northwind-web.com. Fortunately North Wind archive a copy of the scam site: »www.northwindnh.com/nwwsfraud.htm looks very familiar, Ehh!. Now that fraud site was registered back in Nov 04: and had dns provided by the dewhosting.com of the Devbill scam group:

Domain name: northwind-web.com

Registrant Contact:
Martin Raz (northwindweb@yahoo.com)
+1.2672241980
Fax: -
30 Cabaniss St
Pensacola, 304574
EC
Name Servers:
ns1.dewhosting.com
ns2.dewhosting.com


Creation date: 08 Nov 2004 20:24:24
Expiration date: 08 Nov 2005 20:24:24

The history goes back further with reports here: »www.wiphey.com/?p=13&cp=all and back to Feb 2004 when CastleCops published a story on 20 lookalike stolen web template sites, fraudulently charging $9.95 to victims credit cards.»castlecops.com/a4824-9_95_Scam_P···ion.html along with hundreds of posts from victims. It is clear that the "DavWebSoft Inc" of circa Jan 2004 became the Devbill of 2005. Here is a web archived copy from Jan 04 of davwebsoftinc.com sans graphics:»web.archive.org/web/200401180255···inc.com/ It appears that the current crop have forgone the "if you don't recognize a charge" link, otherwise they are clearly replicas.

While ISPs that host thousands of sites cannot be aware of the content or motive of each of them, in this case there has been clear evidence for a reasonable length of time. It is also true that once booted, they will re appear elsewhere within days. However, it is important that some attempt be made to at least disrupt this high growth industry, which is easily a multi-million dollar annual operation.

It is also clear form reviewing the history, that the card info is not coming from any online vendor, nor do I believe you should suspect the last few online merchants that you had transactions with. It is at a much higher level, in that the each run of charges are probably hitting 20,000 to 40,000 cards at a pop. Just as in the case of Davewebsoft and more recently Pluto, victims from the UK and Australia have reported been hit. Many of the cards were never used online, some reported that they were never used anywhere, and that this was the first charge ever on that account. Due to the high volume of cards hit, many of the victims may have transaction in common, especially for the larger vendors.

Therefore it is reasonable to assume that one possibility is a number generating algorithm combined with a hacked ability to validate the numbers. We also know from recent events that there is an enormous supply of stolen processing data out there, and available. The entire card/data warehousing/ merchant processing industry leaks like a sieve, unfortunately at consumers expense.

MGD


pleekmo
Triptoe Through The Tulips
Premium
join:2001-09-14
Manchester, CT
Reviews:
·AT&T DSL Service

Re: Credit Dunning Scams

said by MGD:

...It is reasonable to assume that one possibility is a number generating algorithm combined with a hacked ability to validate the numbers. We also know from recent events that there is an enormous supply of stolen processing data out there, and available. The entire card/data warehousing/ merchant processing industry leaks like a sieve, unfortunately at consumers expense.
I think I agree with your assessment of these scams. I'd suspected that it was not the result of a vendor data-loss but more the result of someone who seems to have successfully gamed the system.

It would appear that the current credit-vetting system need to be revamped.

brmorris
Premium
join:2002-12-09
Irwin, PA

Re: Digital Age Cyprus

I just spoke with the MBNA fraud department and the associated encouraged me to just dispute the charge and leave the card open, but I closed the account. He said they didn't have any information about that merchant, although he did know what I was talking about when I said, "Digital Age."

Monday, 28-May 01:20:40 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics