republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·AT&T Southeast Forum FAQ ·AT&T Southeast Support ·AT&T Southeast Newsgroup Support ·AT&T Southeast Speed Test
AuthorAll Replies


graysonf
Premium,MVM
join:1999-07-16
Fort Lauderdale, FL

reply to bathswife

Re: BellSouth E-mail server Blacklisted?

205.152.59.67 is/was not your public IP address. It belongs to one of bellsouth's outgoing mail servers:

Name: imf19aec.mail.bellsouth.net
Address: 205.152.59.67

Your public IP address that was in effect when you sent the mail appears to be:

Name: adsl-63-194-66.bhm.bellsouth.net
Address: 208.63.194.66

This address was not the one used for the basis of the rejection, 205.152.59.67 was.


bathswife
Original Member

join:2000-09-06
Birmingham, AL

said by graysonf:

205.152.59.67 is/was not your public IP address. It belongs to one of bellsouth's outgoing mail servers:

Name: imf19aec.mail.bellsouth.net
Address: 205.152.59.67

Your public IP address that was in effect when you sent the mail appears to be:

Name: adsl-63-194-66.bhm.bellsouth.net
Address: 208.63.194.66

This address was not the one used for the basis of the rejection, 205.152.59.67 was.
Okay, I'm trying to understand this. Where did you get the "adsl-63-194-66"? And how exactly do you find out what your current IP address is? When I looked at my "public IP" address here on the DSLReports site, it showed the 205.152.59.67 as being my IP. Sorry to be so slow on this but I want to make sure I do the right thing when I switch back to static IP. Thanks for using small words and speaking slowly
--
jbooksNOSPAM@bellsouth.netremove the "nospam" from the email to email me.mhttp://www.johnsonsusedbooks.com


graysonf
Premium,MVM
join:1999-07-16
Fort Lauderdale, FL

You pasted the header from the rejected mail. In that header was the Received: header inserted by the bellsouth mail server that handled your message. That Received header contained your IP address, 208.63.194.66. A reverse lookup of that IP yields adsl-63-194-66.bhm.bellsouth.net.

One very simple way to determine your current IP address is to surf to this link:

»checkip.dyndns.org/

I don't see how it's possible you had an IP address that belongs to a bellsouth.net mail server.



Gizguy
Premium
join:2003-01-23
Alpharetta, GA

reply to graysonf
Isn't this fun..... two hours after I sent my 12:25pm email a reject message was received - once again reporting the Bellsouth outgoing email with ip address of 205.152.59.69 as the cause of the rejection. Perhaps it takes some time for '»www.us.sorbs.net ' to update the removal of this IP address from '»www.mxtoolbox.com ' , or maybe sorbs.net is rejecting the mail for another reason. In all fairness, it may just be a problem between BellSouth and the receiving email system since all of my other POP mail is not rejecting.

Again as I posted earlier, when I send an POP email to this one recipient from the same PC, with same DSL IP address, but I send it using a non-BellSouth email ID through Google's GMAIL smtp server (outgoing port of 465) the message is not rejected. Similarly if I send the mail using the smtp server of the web hosting company I use (not using port 25) it gets through fine.

So it appears to be a problem within the BellSouth Email system - which many on this forum have reported as being very weak. It even failed when I sent the message using BellSouth's Webmail.

Please note, that regardless of what email address I use (BellSouth, or my personal domain address), the mail rejects for this one recipient only when I use the BellSouth.Net (port 25) mail server. I'm not going to lose any sleep over this as I am now sending all of my POP email via Google's SMTP server and/or my web hosting server. However, if BellSouth ever prevents me from using these alternatives, then I guess I'll switch to an alternative broadband provider.



bathswife
Original Member

join:2000-09-06
Birmingham, AL

reply to graysonf

said by graysonf:

(snip)

I don't see how it's possible you had an IP address that belongs to a bellsouth.net mail server.
I don't either after reading all the information you guys have posted. The only thing I can think is that I must have had a dyslexic moment when looking at my ip last night. Thanks again for being so patient.

I'm still not totally convinced that powering off my router and getting a new ip address doesn't help take care of the problem of bounced emails but I'm not completely married to that idea and realize it could be coincidence.
--
jbooksNOSPAM@bellsouth.netremove the "nospam" from the email to email me.mhttp://www.johnsonsusedbooks.com

NormanS
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:4
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC

reply to Gizguy

said by Gizguy:

Again as I posted earlier, when I send an POP email to this one recipient from the same PC, with same DSL IP address, but I send it using a non-BellSouth email ID through Google's GMAIL smtp server (outgoing port of 465) the message is not rejected. Similarly if I send the mail using the smtp server of the web hosting company I use (not using port 25) it gets through fine.

So it appears to be a problem within the BellSouth Email system - which many on this forum have reported as being very weak. It even failed when I sent the message using BellSouth's Webmail.
Technically, you don't send POP email. POP, or "Post Office Protocol" describes the method of accessing email from a mailbox. But you send email either through a client which uses the "Simple Mail Transfer Protocol" (SMTP), or a web form. Either way, once the email submission is complete, the process is SMTP all the way to the Mail Delivery Agent (MDA), which is the SMTP server which puts the email into the mailbox. After that, you access your email either by using a POP3 client to download the message, or using an IMAP client, or web browser, to access the message store on-line.

When you use a web form for email submission, there is an interaction between the HTTP client, which submits your email, and an SMTP submission server, which accepts the message for transfer. After that, your email may take the same path to the edge of the ISP network. So it is likely that Bellsouth email is handled by the same output servers, whether the submission was handled by an SMTP client, such as MS Outlook Express, or a web browser, such as MS Internet Explorer.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum

Sunday, 27-May 21:31:02 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics