en102 to AreSee

to AreSee

Re: Good Luck

I'm glad I still have a VCR.;)
Big Dawg 23
join:2002-03-27
Northfield, MN

Big Dawg 23

They still make VCR's???? Why don't you roll back to Betamax. I have been using a DVR for 5 years and will never go back. With Charter it is like Comcast and you can not record VOD. I am free to record HBO Channels which I do and then delete.

Lagz
Premium Member
join:2000-09-03
The Rock

4 edits

Lagz

Premium Member

said by Big Dawg 23:

They still make VCR's???? Why don't you roll back to Betamax. I have been using a DVR for 5 years and will never go back. With Charter it is like Comcast and you can not record VOD. I am free to record HBO Channels which I do and then delete.
The point he was making was even if DVR's get blocked from recording, then a VCR can still record the show. That recording can be converted just as easy and just as good of quality as a DVR recording. I can just hook up my computer directly to the satellite or cable coax and record it and converted to mpeg1-4 on the fly.
rradina
join:2000-08-08
Chesterfield, MO

rradina

Still don't need a VCR. Buy a $75 Hauppauge WinTV board (or equivalent) and either hook up RF or composite video to your PC. Record the RF/composite directly to MPEG2.

The only issue: Do the VOD/DVR devices employ classic MacroVision copy protection? If so, then you'd need a small "black box" in the middle of the video to trim the MacroVision encoding. I believe they use "off screen" video scan lines to overwhelm the automatic gain governing circuits on recorders. Although your TV's presentation of the signal is unaffected, a recording ends up with wide swings in brightness which makes it too irritating to watch.

AreSee
join:2000-09-20
Atlanta, GA

AreSee

said by rradina:

Still don't need a VCR. Buy a $75 Hauppauge WinTV board (or equivalent) and either hook up RF or composite video to your PC. Record the RF/composite directly to MPEG2.