uniqs
share rss forum feed

rob_in_chatt
Premium
join:2004-09-17
Chattanooga, TN

4 edits

blah

i am an assistant manager for a very popular southern fast food chain (fresh, hot, small & square is your hint to the chain name) but we offer free WIFI access to the public. all our stores that run the WIFI have the Cisco 500 directly behind the modem. it runs that shitty St. Bernard software. well www.limewire.com is filtered out, it says its restricted and so is break.com but here is the kicker. you can install any p2p program from your home and still use it to access our free internet to run the application. i have caught several people in the parking lot, sitting there for hours on end downloading god knows what. well i have a switch in the back that shuts off the wireless. when i see someone in the parking lot for an odd amount of time i go and shut the access point off. i love it when they come in and complain your free internet went down and my reply is oh really? i dont even own a computer so im clueless to whats wrong with it. i hope that the firmware on this little box DLink offers is a little more secure than that crap from St Bernard.

edit: what kills me is the ISP for the majority of all our stores is comcast and in comcasts EULA or TOS i think its referred to as, strictly prohibits public sharing of the connection. does this make a difference seeing how it is a company doing it? i dont want to sit and read the TOS to find out so maybe someone knows about that because i dont.

Cheese
Premium
join:2003-10-26
Naples, FL
kudos:1
said by rob_in_chatt:

i am an assistant manager for a very popular southern fast food chain (fresh, hot, small & square is your hint to the chain name) but we offer free WIFI access to the public.
Mmmmm, White Castle or Krystal Burger?

techwench
I Work For Food
Premium
join:2003-06-26
Garland, TX
I'm guessing Krystal.

...I'm hungry now...

Cheese
Premium
Naples, FL
said by techwench:

I'm guessing Krystal.

...I'm hungry now...