spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

System

http://192.186.0.1

I am at a loss on how to config my netgear RT314 Router.
I am a NTL user I have had a Terayon cable modem TJ210 running OK.
I have now disconneced the modem from the PC and conneced through the router.
Is there any guide on how to config this router?

I am a novice at home networking but I have gone through the config,I have checked the winpcfg drop down menu,all the information looks OK.

From my PC I have launch my web brower and type hppt://192.168.0.1 I cannot get into the log-in box.

Any help would be appreciated.

edhample

join:2001-07-31
Land O Lakes, FL

A couple of obvious things first...
1. Did your cable modem connect you to the internet when connected directly to the computer?

2. Now that you have connected your cable modem to the router, is the Internet link light on the RT314 on?

3. Is the computer connected to one of the LAN ports on the router? Is the corresponding link light on?

4. If the router's link lights for the cable mode and/or the computer are not lit, are you using straight-thru cables or cross-over cables. You must use straight thru Cat-5 ethernet cables with the RT-314.

5. Check your IP settings - remove ALL fixed address including default gateway and DNS settings. Set the TCP/IP stack to "obtain an IP address automatically". Save these settings and reboot immediately. After reboot, run WINIPCFG. You should now have an address in the range 192.168.0.x, a netmask of 255.255.255.0, default gateway of 192.168.0.1, and DNS address of 192.168.0.1. If these are your settings then you are ready to go.

Next - the less obvious things...

6. Do you have any special access software installed in order to login to your cable network? If so, you will likely need to remove it.