
how-to block ads
|
|
Share Topic  |
 |
|
|
|
 NormanSPremium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA kudos:4 Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| reply to englund
Re: Comcast cut off outgoing SMTP server said by englund:I understand that the client shouldn't be using Comcast for this type of mailing (unfortunately the client did not). The bummer is that Comcast doesn't appear willing to allow access to the outgoing sever on this account and now several of their POP accounts (that don't have a mail server) no longer can sent mail. I would suspect that the client has had a port 25 block imposed on them. Comcast will impose a port 25 block on outbound connections when they perceive that the subscriber is being abusive. The last word that I got was that the block will remain indefinitely.
Have the subscriber reconfigure their client to use port 465 with SSL. It that works, fine. If not, well; they were using the service improperly. There are many options. I got tired of the spam to my ISP account and set up my own domain.
Also:
AOL Mail (SMTP/IMAP, free) AIM Mail (SMTP/IMAP, free) GMail (SMTP/POP3, free) Lycos Mail (SMTP/POP3,$19.99 per year) MSN Hotmail (HTTPMail, $19.95 per year) Yahoo! Mail (SMTP/POP3, $19.99 per year) -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum | |  | said by NormanS:I got tired of the spam to my ISP account and set up my own domain.
Also:
AOL Mail (SMTP/IMAP, free) AIM Mail (SMTP/IMAP, free) GMail (SMTP/POP3, free) Lycos Mail (SMTP/POP3,$19.99 per year) MSN Hotmail (HTTPMail, $19.95 per year) Yahoo! Mail (SMTP/POP3, $19.99 per year) Well no one wants to send out business emails with AOL, Hotmail, Gmail, etc accounts. (These are legitimate emails about the organization - not unsolicited junk.) They have their own domain (as well as several client domains they manage) and so use their domain email with a Comcast business account (not residential service). So you'd think if you call customer support they wouldn't give you some baloney line about a company wide policy about banning outbound connections but would instead inform the client what a block had been placed and why. | |  NormanSPremium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA kudos:4 Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
|  GMail account and reply. |  Yahoo! Mail Plus account, and reply. |
said by englund:Well no one wants to send out business emails with AOL, Hotmail, Gmail, etc accounts. (These are legitimate emails about the organization - not unsolicited junk.) They have their own domain (as well as several client domains they manage) and so use their domain email with a Comcast business account (not residential service). So you'd think if you call customer support they wouldn't give you some baloney line about a company wide policy about banning outbound connections but would instead inform the client what a block had been placed and why. GMail and Yahoo! Mail Plus allow you to send email from your domain. Here are examples, including screen shots detailing a reply composition: GMail servers ('smtp.gmail.com'):
Return-Path: <%User_ID%@gmail.com> Received: from rly-yc06.mail.aol.com (rly-yc06.mail.aol.com [172.18.205.149]) by air-yc03.mail.aol.com (v113.6) with ESMTP id MAILINYC31-6ef453fd4276e; Wed, 25 Oct 2006 17:16:23 -0400 Received: from nz-out-0102.google.com (nz-out-0102.google.com [64.233.162.204]) by rly-yc06.mail.aol.com (v113.6) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINYC69-6ef453fd4276e; Wed, 25 Oct 2006 17:16:23 -0400 Received: by nz-out-0102.google.com with SMTP id 16so197185nzp for <%User_ID%@aim.com>; Wed, 25 Oct 2006 14:16:23 -0700 (PDT) DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=beta; d=gmail.com; h=received:from:organization:to:date:mime-version:subject:message-id:priority:x-mailer:content-type:content-transfer-encoding:content-description:sender; b=AfSzSmLNTK19H96215tyqBl7XNnrkPupUvshfzWAw6v1w67qAxevLmL3mafkfAqcCRz2qpdfGgDrs03R 5mphIXO3IBLXDJRKTiC2yL+VTHwKZw5YubPH7Niluh0thtEIvY3s2p5oV3h/E3K0ILBR6tdgXaoyH+0cw3LAPwCjI4Y= Received: by 10.65.54.5 with SMTP id g5mr1612182qbk; Wed, 25 Oct 2006 14:16:22 -0700 (PDT) Received: from gmail.com ( [69.106.38.180]) by mx.google.com with ESMTP id f18sm3562161qba.2006.10.25.14.16.19; Wed, 25 Oct 2006 14:16:22 -0700 (PDT) From: "NormanS" <%User_ID%@aosake.net> Organization: Google Mail System To: %User_ID%@aim.com Date: Wed, 25 Oct 2006 14:16:04 -0700 MIME-Version: 1.0 Subject: [TEST] GMail servers. Message-ID: <453F71A4.2856.67693E@%User_ID%.aosake.net> Priority: normal X-mailer: Pegasus Mail for Windows (4.41) Content-type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII Content-transfer-encoding: 7BIT Content-description: Mail message body Sender: NormanS <%User_ID%@gmail.com> X-AOL-IP: 64.233.162.204
Just to prove a point about GMail SMTP service. Despite the "Return-Path:", and "Sender:" header lines, the recipient's client will only display the "From:" header line, and will open a composition window to the "From:" email address. This is not a GMail email address!
Yahoo! Mail Plus servers ('smtp.mail.yahoo.com'):
Return-Path: <%User_ID%@lycos.com> Received: from rly-xn06.mx.aol.com (rly-xn06.mail.aol.com [172.20.83.119]) by air-xn04.mail.aol.com (v113.6) with ESMTP id MAILINXN42-75b454294f42c2; Fri, 27 Oct 2006 19:23:40 -0400 Received: from smtp109.plus.mail.mud.yahoo.com (smtp109.plus.mail.mud.yahoo.com [68.142.206.242]) by rly-xn06.mx.aol.com (v113.6) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXN69-75b454294f42c2; Fri, 27 Oct 2006 19:23:32 -0400 Received: (qmail 63347 invoked from network); 27 Oct 2006 23:23:32 -0000 Received: from unknown (HELO lycos.com) (hard2findanamenotused@68.127.139.241 with login) by smtp109.plus.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; 27 Oct 2006 23:23:31 -0000 From: "NormanS" <%User_ID%@lycos.com> Organization: Yahoo! Mail To: %User_ID%@aim.com Date: Fri, 27 Oct 2006 16:23:13 -0700 MIME-Version: 1.0 Subject: [TEST] Yahoo! Mail servers. Message-ID: <45423271.8225.1BAC539@%User_ID%.lycos.com> Priority: normal X-mailer: Pegasus Mail for Windows (4.41) Content-type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII Content-transfer-encoding: 7BIT Content-description: Mail message body X-AOL-IP: 68.142.206.242
Just to prove a point about Yahoo! Mail Plus servers. There are few clues that this went through Yahoo! servers. No 'yahoo.com' email address. The "Organization" string can be changed in the client (I just don't feel like re-testing after changing it; there is a setting for in in Pegasus Mail). Note that Pegasus Mail even let me specify the "HELO" string (lycos.com), despite that this message did not even go through Lycos servers. BTW, Lycos Mail Plus works similar to Yahoo! Mail Plus; as an option for using SMTP servers other than Comcast. I do have a Yahoo! Mail Plus account, courtesy of AT&T HSI (sort of like Comcast and Giganews). I don't have a Lycos Mail Plus account.
The screen shots show what the recipient sees in the message list, and the reply composition window.
Bottom line, though, to get somewhat back on topic: Nobody should be using a residential ISP service for business purposes. You need to mail large quantities of messages on a regular basis? Your own domain, and mail hosting for that domain can be had for under $70 per year.
-- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum | |  | I skimmed over most of the messages and did not see this so I apoogoze in advance if someone mentioned it. In a effort to reduce spam, Comcats (as does many other ISPs) only allows their SMTP servers to be used if you are connected through a Comcast IP address. If not, you will be blocked. So therefore, if the OP had a non-Comcast IP the SMTP would be blocked. -- I'm not really sure what I am doing, but I'm doing it anyway! | |  NormanSPremium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA kudos:4 Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| said by TraumaJunkie:I skimmed over most of the messages and did not see this so I apoogoze in advance if someone mentioned it. Including skimming over my post with email headers showing email sent through a Comcast SMTP server...
In a effort to reduce spam, Comcats (as does many other ISPs) only allows their SMTP servers to be used if you are connected through a Comcast IP address. If not, you will be blocked. So therefore, if the OP had a non-Comcast IP the SMTP would be blocked. That is not true. Aside from examining the headers of the message I posted earlier, fourth one (it shows access to 'smtp.comcast.net' from a 'pacbell.net' (AT&T Yahoo! HSI) IP address), check your Comcast site FAQ for configuring an email client to access 'smtp.comcast.com' from another network. You must configure your client to use SMTP AUTH when connecting from another network.
BTW, my ISP, which is AT&T Yahoo! HSI, like Comcast, does allow authenticated connection to their mail servers from other networks. -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum | |  madylarianThe curmudgeonlyPremium join:2002-01-03 Parkville, MD | In fact, here is the instruction for using Outlook Express while travelling (and not being connected via Comcast). There are similar instructions for Outlook and other email clients.
mady -- Honi soit qui mal y pense | |
|