spc
Search similar:

uniqs

voip_user
@bell.ca

voip_user

Anon

[General] What's the minimum speed required for VOIP

I am planning to use VIOP instead of regular bell phone. I am new to this and need some help. I have no broadband internet yet. I need some help to decide what to do.
In my area (Markham, Ontario, Canada) Rogers is offering a few internet access options.
1.Utra-lite: download speed 128 kbps,upload speed 64 kbps
2.Lite: download speed 1Mbps,upload speed 128 kbps
3.Express: download speed 5 Mbps, upload speed 384 kbps
4. Extreme: download speed 6 Mbps, upload speed 800 kbps
Of course price is higher for higher speed.
I was wondering if I can just go with Lite or Ultra lite. I prefer not to have to stop my download (just in case some one call while I am downloading or surfing the net) before I can use the phone

Greg_Z
Premium Member
join:2001-08-08
Springfield, IL

Greg_Z

Premium Member

If downloading & surfing, you would be better off with Express, due to Lite & Ultra-Lite is choking your bandwith with VoIP.

voiplover
Premium Member
join:2004-05-28
Portsmouth, NH

voiplover to voip_user

Premium Member

to voip_user
I found that when using 711 codec (preferred codec) you actually need 100k both ways. You can use codecs that use less but they all come with a price.
If you aren't surfing heavy while on the phone, then I'd look at the 1meg/128K deal.

Just my advice.
mazilo
From Mazilo
Premium Member
join:2002-05-30
Lilburn, GA

mazilo to voip_user

Premium Member

to voip_user
This depends on the CoDec you will be using. If you are going to use a commercial VoIP, you will have to call them to find out what CoDec will the VoSP support. If the VoSP supports G723.1 which uses about 5.6Kbps, then your VoIP connections shall have no problem with Ultra-Lite so long as you have QoS implemented on your connection.

DracoFelis
Premium Member
join:2003-06-15

2 recommendations

DracoFelis to voip_user

Premium Member

to voip_user
said by voip_user :