uniqs
share rss forum feed

rawgerz
The hell was that?
Premium
join:2004-10-03
Grove City, PA

retapping threads

I need to have a bolt hole re-tapped. The threads stripped out just from disassembly which I can tell it was overtightened during assembly.
The bolt is steel and the housing the bolt goes into is cast aluminum. The bolt still catches inside and will stay in but I have no idea if it can be saved. I can get the same bolt online so that's not an issue. The circumference of the hole is about 8mm.

Can they usually be saved without going to a larger size?

Since I have no experience rethreading I'm just going to try and find someone that does.
--

You can't make all the people happy all of the time. But it should be common sense to shoot for the majority.

Ken
Premium,MVM
join:2003-06-16
Markle, IN

I have re-tapped a couple things and I have always had to go one size larger. For example current hole is 8mm, new hole would be 9mm.

Dennis
Premium,Mod
join:2001-01-26
Algonquin, IL
kudos:5

said by Ken:

I have re-tapped a couple things and I have always had to go one size larger. For example current hole is 8mm, new hole would be 9mm.
Ditto....and it doesn't help that aluminum is so soft. Watch your torque when you put the new bolt in.
--
My Blog. Because I desperately need the acknowledgement of others.

Mainegirl and my Beer Review's

Warzau
Premium
join:2000-10-26
Naperville, IL
kudos:1

1 edit
reply to rawgerz

Concur go up in size and tap it out, go slow use lube and back it out to clean it up.
Or you can sleeve it.

TODarling
U.S. Army Retired
Premium
join:2004-11-27
Fort Smith, AR

1 edit
reply to Dennis

This is what you need, by using this you maintain the same bolt size.

»www.emhart.com/products/helicoil.asp

Barfly

join:2005-03-22
Richmond, CA
reply to rawgerz