spc
Search similar:

uniqs
hobbesdkat
join:2007-01-19
Girard, PA

hobbesdkat

Isn't WPA2 recommended? Hard to find!

I am a real newbie when it comes to networking and, while computer literate with software,only marginally with hardware. Recently got satellite internet and would like to set up a wireless network. I keep running into recommendations for WPA2 using AES, which is well and good, but looking at router specs, WPA2 doesn't seem to be that common...only the pre-N ones mainly seem to have it sometimes. And buying pre-N seems to be discouraged since not solidified yet. I'm trying to buy the right thing, but seems like I'm getting mixed messages.....what security protocol would you recommend for a new set-up? I am a home user in the country, so maybe not such a big deal.

GoodPwd
@cox.net

GoodPwd

Anon

WPA requires TKIP and AES is optional. WPA2 requires AES and supports TKIP. WPA and WPA2 are different (even when both are using AES) and do not interoperate. There is no real benefit security wise to WPA2 over WPA. TKIP and AES are both secure if you use a good passphrase. It is much more important to choose a good passphrase - as long as possible and random - than to use WPA2 and AES.
hobbesdkat
Girard, PA

hobbesdkat

I was going by the Wi-Fi alliance's news and also Kim Komando's recommendations. Made it sound like WPA2 is really the way to go if you are buying new. »www.komando.com/tips/ind ··· x?id=296

Nerdtalker
Working Hard, Or Hardly Working?
MVM
join:2003-02-18
San Jose, CA

Nerdtalker

MVM

said by hobbesdkat:

Made it sound like WPA2 is really the way to go if you are buying new.
It is, and that's the honest truth. Ironically, the place to find the "best" certified WPA2 gear is right there on the Wi-Fi Alliance's webpage: »certifications.wi-fi.org ··· x=30&y=6

I see over 900 100% certified WPA2 products. There's gotta be something you're looking for in there!
hobbesdkat
Girard, PA

hobbesdkat