spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

haertig

join:2000-12-31
Broomfield, CO

Using WPA, sometimes says connected "unsecured"?

I'm new to wireless. Occasionally I see a taskbar bubble popup that says I'm connected, but "unsecured". This should not be the case.

I'm using a Buffalo WHR-G54S router (Buffalo firmware 1.40) and a Toshiba A105-S4384 laptop with integrated Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG. I may eventually flash dd-wrt onto the router, but for now it's running out-of-the-box Buffalo firmware.

The router is setup for WPA-PSK(AES) encryption. I used a 63 character shared key to setup the router and laptop. The laptop (WinXP MCE) is setup for one preferred network (mine) and also set NOT to "Automatically connect to non-preferred networks".

The taskbar bubble sometimes appears and says:

quote:
Wireless Network Connection is now connected.

Connected to: my-very-unique-ssid (unsecured)

Signal Strength: Excellent

Immediately I go and "View Available Wireless Networks" and it shows me connected to my preferred network, and lists this network as "Security-enabled wireless network (WPA)"

My SSID is very unique and shouldn't be getting confused by anything else in the neighborhood. I occassionally see two other networks in range - both secured - and both with pretty generically named SSID's.

So what's with that "unsecured" text that sometimes appears in the bubble popup? I'm new to wireless, but I think I have this all setup correctly and securely. But when something pops up and says "unsecured", I worry.

Thanks in advance for any help or explanations.

SoonerAl
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-23
Norman, OK
kudos:5

Here are old threads about the same issue...

»Connecting unsecured?

»secured but unsecured??? Help

...unfortunetly without a solution AFAIK...
--
"When all else fails, read the instructions..."

haertig

join:2000-12-31
Broomfield, CO