 CaptEd Premium join:2003-01-25 Overland Park, KS | reply to manfmmd Re: Mail Changes Coming!
I am still finding email messages that will bounce from time to time. Most are going through, but I am suspecting that the new "secure" mail servers have some bugs. Anyone work with Orkin? |
|
 stardotstar
join:2000-12-13 Barker, TX | reply to manfmmd I have made the changes and keep getting the emails! Also I keep getting error messages to enter my password or the server not found box! |
|
  Kris
@tds.net
| Other accounts
I have a POP3 with our company's internet and I'm getting bounce backs now to any sbclgobal.net account. Do I have to change the settings on my pop3 account that isn't sbc.
The following recipient(s) could not be reached:
Albe---- Goo---e (------e@sbcglobal.net) on 8/8/2007 2:55 PM
The message cannot be delivered due to a configuration error on the server. Please contact your Administrator.
|
|
  Kris
@tds.net | More Info
Again, we have SBC internet services for our internet access, but not email. That is through another company hosting our website. |
|
  Kris
@tds.net | One other line of error message
hunt-----.org #5.3.0 smtp;553 5.3.0 nlpi051,DNSBL:To request removal of, 70.224.64.1, send the complete error message in an E-mail to removeme@sbc.sbcglobal.net |
|
  manfmmd Premium join:2003-01-14 Earth clubs: | [OT] Can you send an email to them via Yahoo, Gmail, or another Internet Based email service? |
|
  Kris
@tds.net | It is working from Hotmail. This is driving me nuts! THanks!
Kris |
|
  Richard23
@swbell.net | yeah, ATT mail service is nothing but a joke..using the settings they ask for with Outlook ends up with server timeouts and server interuptions...one thing ATT is good at..and thats 'collecting' and 'cashing' your checks |
|
 GB34
join:2004-12-08 Adrian, MO
| reply to manfmmd Re: Mail Changes Coming!
I've had everything set for SSL connections ever since it was announced that secure connections would be needed for both POP and SMTP connections. However, I have been receiving multiple copies of the following, which is evidently bogus. I assume others have been receiving this also. I just delete it before it ever gets to my computer.
Dear AT&T Yahoo! Customer:
We noticed that you are accessing email using non-secure settings in your email software.
We would like to ensure that your ATT Yahoo! Member ID, password, and email messages are transmitted securely between your mail software (such as Outlook or Outlook Express) and the ATT Yahoo! Mail servers. In order to meet this need, please enable SSL [links to helpme.att.net/glossary.php#147] via the instructions that are available on the Help site [links to helpme.att.net/article.php?item=10918].
Since multiple email notifications have already been sent out about this, we request that you please make the necessary changes immediately. Remember, you need to make these changes if you want to continue to send/receive email using a mail client.
Thank you for your cooperation,
AT&T Yahoo! Customer Support |
|
 GB34
join:2004-12-08 Adrian, MO
| reply to manfmmd I've had everything set for SSL connections ever since it was announced that secure connections would be needed for both POP and SMTP connections. However, I have been receiving multiple copies of the following, which is evidently bogus. I assume others have been receiving this also. I just delete it before it ever gets to my computer.
Dear AT&T Yahoo! Customer:
We noticed that you are accessing email using non-secure settings in your email software.
We would like to ensure that your ATT Yahoo! Member ID, password, and email messages are transmitted securely between your mail software (such as Outlook or Outlook Express) and the ATT Yahoo! Mail servers. In order to meet this need, please enable SSL [links to helpme.att.net/glossary.php#147] via the instructions that are available on the Help site [links to helpme.att.net/article.php?item=10918].
Since multiple email notifications have already been sent out about this, we request that you please make the necessary changes immediately. Remember, you need to make these changes if you want to continue to send/receive email using a mail client.
Thank you for your cooperation,
AT&T Yahoo! Customer Support |
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| said by GB34 :I've had everything set for SSL connections ever since it was announced that secure connections would be needed for both POP and SMTP connections. However, I have been receiving multiple copies of the following, which is evidently bogus. What makes you suspect bogosity? As much has you have posted (no trace headers) looks legit to me.
I assume others have been receiving this also. I have not received any. -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|
  jimkyle Btrieve Guy Premium join:2002-10-20 Oklahoma City, OK
·AT&T Southwest
| While I've not received any on my own subaccount, my wife has been getting them every other day for the past week or so. I had to change some of her configuration and enable the SpamGuard Plus stuff on the server, for her subaccount, and set it to leave messages on the server in order for her to be able to train the filters to her taste. First thing she did was tag the Yahoo message as spam...
It turned out that she was still receiving non-SSL via port 110 in order to use PopFile as a spam filter, but even after we switched her over to SSL in both directions and cut off all the other accounts from doing any automatic checking, she was still getting the semi-threatening message. It's definitely NOT good PR for AT&T. Brings memories of Ernestine to mind... -- Jim Kyle |
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA
·Pacific Bell - SBC
1 edit |  POP3-SMTP.JPG/thumb.jpg) Yahoo! Mail Plus (U.S.) |  POP3-SMTP.JPG/thumb.jpg) Yahoo!7 Mail (Australia) |  POP3-SMTP.JPG/thumb.jpg) Yahoo! "me-ru" (Japan) |
I don't know what might still be triggering the message. I do suspect that the cutoff "threat" may be driven by Yahoo!, though. I have two Yahoo! Mail accounts with Yahoo! CC TLD domains; both of them are now configured to work with SSL. Here are the Help pages for Yahoo! Mail Plus, Yahoo!7 Mail(Australia), and Yahoo! メール (Japan):
»help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mail/o···-08.html »help.yahoo.com/l/au/yahoo7/mail/···-08.html »help.yahoo.co.jp/help/jp/mail/ma···-40.html
I don't understand what port 110 has to do with POPFile. It is a proxy which uses HTTP to access port 80 to pull the email from the server. You set your local client to use POP3 to access the proxy to pull the email through port 110. -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|
  jimkyle Btrieve Guy Premium join:2002-10-20 Oklahoma City, OK
·AT&T Southwest
| said by NormanS :I don't understand what port 110 has to do with POPFile. It's quite simple: PopFile can only do its thing on plaintext message traffic, and when OE uses SSL in both directions, the incoming traffic that PopFile sees is encrypted. The decryption doesn't happen until the message gets to OE.
She wasn't using the latest version of PopFile so I can't comment on your mention of port 80 traffic, but we were configured for PopFile to receive from the server on port 110, and feed the filtered output to OE on port 110 internally via the localhost address. Traffic going to the server was sent direct via SSL with no spam or AV filtering at all -- which ought to be the only thing an ISP needs to be concerned with, since that's the only way for malware to abuse the ISP's network... -- Jim Kyle |
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA | Sorry, I confused POPFile with YPOPs. Different type of application. |
|
  jimkyle Btrieve Guy Premium join:2002-10-20 Oklahoma City, OK | Got yet another such Yahoo! message this morning, with the implied threat level escalated. Think there's any possibility of getting this problem looked at via AT&T Direct? -- Jim Kyle |
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| I'd give it a shot. I can't say if they can do anything, but it wouldn't hurt.
I've been watching my accounts more closely now; but I have yet to see even one. I wonder what is triggering them? -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|
 jordanair
join:2000-08-15 Wylie, TX | reply to NormanS Yahoo abuse is stating that these emails have forged headers..and are not sent by ATT/Yahoo.. Had a similar case Monday may try to send this to the abuse link |
|
 NormanS Premium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| Nobody has posted one of these notices with full headers. Without full headers, how can anybody determine bogosity? I don't see the usual glaring grammatical errors of a "phish" in as much of the notice as has been posted. Nor anything which looks like a direct attempt to "phish" personal information. -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|
  jimkyle Btrieve Guy Premium join:2002-10-20 Oklahoma City, OK
·AT&T Southwest
| reply to NormanS Here's the full source of the most recent message she got. Certainly looks like a legitimate Yahoo! source message to me. This is a copy-and-paste from OE's properties page, show source, with her User ID replaced by "xxx" in two places but no other editing.
I'm a bit puzzled as to why her address was in the "Reply to" header field, but I guess that's one way to defeat attempts to reply to the message... -- Jim Kyle |
|