 rhatsaruck
join:1999-08-12 West Palm Beach, FL
| BellSouth Network Status page gives Norton AntiVirus alert!
Hi folks:
Is anyone else experiencing this? Is this a false positive or a real problem?
View »help.bellsouth.net/
Click on Network Status in the upper right hand corner.
On the Local System Alerts page select State=Florida, City=West Palm Beach
The System Status page appears for West Palm Beach FL and reports no errors. Within five seconds Norton AntiVirus 2006 generates Virus Alert, High Risk:
Object name: \Temporary Internet Files\hker[1].htm Virus name: Downloader Action Taken: The file was automatically deleted.
This is a reproducible problem. I am running Windows XP Professional fully updated and Norton AntiVirus 2006. |
|
  viofam Premium join:2001-07-17 Clarksville, TN edit: March 30th, @10:07AM
| "Clarksville" "TN" reuslts in the display of a McAffee warning for
Exploit-MS06-014 in Win 2000. |
|
  mikes60 A View From Paradise Premium join:2001-07-31 Boynton Beach, FL | reply to rhatsaruck It is also caught by Webroot's Spy sweeper. -- No good deed goes unpunished. |
|
  sportsfan54 Premium join:2001-04-27 Laurel, MS | reply to rhatsaruck I'm not getting anything here with AVG Free Edition. |
|
  Tel
join:2001-10-12 Mauldin, SC | reply to rhatsaruck NOD32 is giving me a goldunix.com webpage containing HTML/Exploit.Mht trojan at the West Palm Beach page. |
|
 majerle
join:2001-07-08 Forest City, NC | reply to rhatsaruck Kaspersky Internet Security is showing me an Exploit.JS.ADODB.Stream.y and Exploit.HTML.Mht warning at the Rutherfordton, NC status page. |
|
  whatsup
@bellsouth.net | reply to rhatsaruck Since this is caught by various AVs, it seems to be some sort of malware... My Symantec Corporate AV also caught it as "Downloader". Anyone know if this is being investigated by at&t/Bellsouth?
-jen |
|
 Zoder
join:2002-04-16 Miami, FL | I just came across this myself. Why is it still on the site almost 2 weeks later? |
|
  Surfinusa Premium join:2001-02-08
| reply to rhatsaruck said by rhatsaruck :Hi folks: Is anyone else experiencing this? Is this a false positive or a real problem? View » help.bellsouth.net/Click on Network Status in the upper right hand corner. On the Local System Alerts page select State=Florida, City=West Palm Beach The System Status page appears for West Palm Beach FL and reports no errors. Within five seconds Norton AntiVirus 2006 generates Virus Alert, High Risk: Object name: \Temporary Internet Files\hker[1].htm Virus name: Downloader Action Taken: The file was automatically deleted. This is a reproducible problem. I am running Windows XP Professional fully updated and Norton AntiVirus 2006. Read this:
»BellSouth Support Site Serving Malware |
|
 Zoder
join:2002-04-16 Miami, FL | Looks like they are finally fixing it. The page is giving a 404 error at the moment. |
|
  whatsup
@bellsouth.net | But how many more pages of the BS/at&t site may the trojan be on, I wonder? I've always avoided the Bellsouth site as much as possible...
-jen |
|
 rhatsaruck
join:1999-08-12 West Palm Beach, FL | reply to Zoder Now BellSouth has removed the Network Status link from:
»help.bellsouth.net |
|
  jazzman916 Life on the Upbeat Premium,Mod join:2001-09-01 Birdland clubs:
·surpasshosting
·Hosting Zoom
Host: Virtual Private Ne.. Satellite Radio AT&T Southeast Wireless Security
| said by rhatsaruck :Now BellSouth has removed the Network Status link from: » help.bellsouth.net But the landing page is still active: »home.bellsouth.net/csbellsouth/s···page.htm
Use the above link at your own risk! -- "Hoaxes use weaknesses in human behaviour to ensure they are replicated and distributed. In other words, hoaxes prey on the Human Operating System." --Stewart Kirkpatrick |
|
  whatsup
@bellsouth.net
| Anyone remember this?:
AT&T Hack Highlights Web Site Vulnerabilities: »www.informationweek.com/news/sho···92500500
-jen |
|