 | reply to devicemanage
Re: [Connectivity] Odd screen popped up when trying to surf inte said by devicemanage:Some sites are still unavailable like google and trendmls - does anyone know why? Trend especially, even entering the ip address still takes me back to the comcast agreement? That can't be a dns issue. I too have made a number of changes to dns to get around this, even danced with a lamp shade on my head. Still nothing. I'm having the same issues with some sites in PA not far from you. -- Got Ink? Wanna Share it? Then go to »shareyourtattoo.com and send it in! Or just stop by and check out the galleries of Tattoos from around the world! |
|
 sedorox join:2006-06-23 Williamsport, PA | reply to lolololol Umm.. they don't own comcastsupport.com. Look at the DNS servers for the site. They are NOT comcast servers. Domain Whois information is VERY easy to fake. So yes, they have the correct address, but not the DNS servers. Take a look at comcast.com/net.. neither of them use inflow.net as their glue records. So yea.. this is fake.. Very interesting. Glad I run my own DNS server. |
|
|
|
 CabalPremium join:2007-01-21 Austin, TX Reviews:
·Suddenlink
| You think it's out of the realm of possibility that a Comcast support sight is hosted by Inflow? They are a pretty big name.
$ host www.comcastsupport.com www.comcastsupport.com has address 66.179.151.44
$ whois 66.179.151.44 Inflow Inc. NFLO-AR-3 (NET-66-179-0-0-1) 66.179.0.0 - 66.179.255.255 Comcast Online INFLOW-20899-69744-15296 (NET-66-179-151-0-1) 66.179.151.0 - 66.179.151.127 -- Interested in open source engine management for your Subaru? |
|
 makazePremium join:2004-02-23 USA | said by Cabal:You think it's out of the realm of possibility that a Comcast support sight is hosted by Inflow? They are a pretty big name. $ host www.comcastsupport.com www.comcastsupport.com has address 66.179.151.44 $ whois 66.179.151.44 Inflow Inc. NFLO-AR-3 (NET-66-179-0-0-1) 66.179.0.0 - 66.179.255.255 Comcast Online INFLOW-20899-69744-15296 (NET-66-179-151-0-1) 66.179.151.0 - 66.179.151.127 They have quite a few servers hosted at inflow, this is probably some sort of account cleanup. (ie. not correct provisioning, or none at all due to various system issues) |
|
 | reply to sedorox said by sedorox:Umm.. they don't own comcastsupport.com. Look at the DNS servers for the site. They are NOT comcast servers. Domain Whois information is VERY easy to fake. So yes, they have the correct address, but not the DNS servers. Take a look at comcast.com/net.. neither of them use inflow.net as their glue records. So yea.. this is fake.. Very interesting. Glad I run my own DNS server. If you go to »www.comcastsupport.com and look at the security certificate, you will see it is signed by RSA. I realize RSA is not the worlds most brilliant company, but I think they might have caught this one. I highly doubt a phishing attempt or other form of hijack.
Shawn |
|
 | reply to makaze said by makaze:this is probably some sort of account cleanup. (ie. not correct provisioning, or none at all due to various system issues) Bingo!! The messages people were getting is when Comcast sends you to the "walled garden" where you can not get anywhere except for provisioning. But if you are going thru a router, the connection to the provisioning page doesn't work right. Hence calling Comcast to get running again. They re-provision you. You reboot everything and it is working again.
Sounds like just what you said. Someone screwed up and wiped out some account info and that resulted in losing connectivity to the rest of the internet. -- -- Internet News My BLOG My Web Page |
|
 SolarPupHardware GodPremium join:2002-03-07 Greeley, CO | reply to SolarPup As of yesterday afternoon it looks like it got fixed.. i left it how it was, went to go meet a date for dinner, came back, and it was working.. dont get it.. oh well -- ...I don't have a 8mb speedy connection, I fly through the net at low altitudes! |
|
 juniorx join:2006-02-05 St John'S, NL | So are people still seeing the default provisioning screen for some sites? |
|
 Corey_TToyota Offroad Forum Owner join:2001-10-27 Auburn, WA | reply to SolarPup So if I was going directly through my modem and not the router, I may have seen a provision page?
I wonder if Comcast will fess up to this and put something up on their page?
Also a friend of mine is up in Federal Way with the same Motorola 5100 modem as I, and also using the same stock dns #s, and the problem never hit him at all yesterday.
I go through the same hub as he does too. -- My Forum
My Website |
|
 lauriej join:2005-01-31 Port Charlotte, FL | reply to SolarPup i was going through a router but was using comcast's dns servers once i changed them to opendns i stopped getting the page. which i was getting on both ie and netscape. |
|
 Corey_TToyota Offroad Forum Owner join:2001-10-27 Auburn, WA | reply to SolarPup Anymore updates on this as to what actually happened? |
|