 Just Bob Premium join:2000-08-13 Spring Hill, FL
| reply to Just Bob Re: Another WinFixer infiltration...this time on www.wfaa.com
Sandi has blogged. She found that ultimately these infected ads come from Real Media and Valueclick.
»msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/default.aspx |
|
  Doctor Four My other vehicle is a TARDIS Premium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to Doctor Four This is likely happening on all Belo owned websites, considering that the vector for the malicious redirects is their own ad company, belointeractive (via RealMedia).
Which means that the website for the Dallas Morning News, dallasnews.com, may also have the same problem. Though here it could hit them in the bottom line as they will likely lose quite a few subscriptions from people who have gone to the site and gotten infected. -- "The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot) We are the Hacker Collective: Resistance Is Futile - All Your AACS Keys Will Be Assimilated. |
|
 Just Bob Premium join:2000-08-13 Spring Hill, FL
| reply to Doctor Four I'm not very encouraged.
Perhaps if a large number of people were to file a complainant...
Dear Bob,
Thank you for your e-mail.
Everyone here at WFAA.com strives everyday to provide the most personally relevant news and information for our customers. And, it is through customer feedback that we are best able to meet customer needs, preferences and wishes. We appreciate your feedback.
Thank you again for your e-mail. We encourage you to e-mail us again with any other comments, questions, concerns or complaints you may have.
Best Regards,
LaTonya S.
--------Original Message------------- From: Bob To: null Date: 26-JUN-2007 11:21AM
It seems your site is serving ads for malware via Real Media and Valueclick: »msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/default.aspx |
|
  jbob Reach Out and Touch Someone Premium join:2004-04-26 Little Rock, AR
·Comcast
·AT&T Southwest
| Looks like a canned response. I bet if you sent a message to the competing stations in the area this issue would be fixed much faster. Can you imagine the other stations reporting this about WFAA?  |
|
  Doctor Four My other vehicle is a TARDIS Premium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to Doctor Four I'm beginning to wonder if Belo doesn't care that their websites are serving up malware, and that the only way to get them to take notice is to tell their competition about it (here in DFW that would be myfoxdfw.com, nbc5i.com, and cbs11tv.com).
A few years ago, wfaa.com was asking rather intrusive personal questions you had to answer in order to visit much of their site; so much so that whenever I wanted to visit a local network's website, it was never theirs.
My mom's PC now has the MVPS hosts file on it, and I was able to get it to install on one machine at work that is not part of the network controlled by the company's IT department - it is part of our lab LAN, and we can install pretty much anything, short of copying files to or modifying files on the network drives. I also put Firefox on it, which is less susceptible to this kind of hostile redirect. -- "The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot) We are the Hacker Collective: Resistance Is Futile - All Your AACS Keys Will Be Assimilated. |
|
  amysheehan Premium,VIP,MVM join:1999-12-21 Huntington Beach, CA
·RoadRunner Cable
| reply to Just Bob Contact with wfaa -
Original Message: ----------------- From: xxxxxxxx.belointeractive@abc.com Date: Mon, 25 Jun 2007 10:51:37 -0500 (CDT) To: amysheehan================dslr.net Subject: Customer Service Inquiry - www.wfaa.com
Dear Amy-
We have received your comment and will get back with you shortly.
***************** Your feedback ***************** Please have a look at this topic posted at dslreports re your website and winfixer ads being served on Sunday »Another WinFixer infiltration...this time on www.wfaa.com time-on-wwwwfaacom
I can't replicate the problem today but I think you need to have a look at recent advertising changes that may have caused this problem.
I am registered as amysheehan @ dslreports and I am an executive online news producer in Los Angeles for a network O/O station at xxxxx My work email address isxxxxxxx@#####.com and you may reach me directly @ 818mmmmmmmm. I have shared this info with our IT director for website operations who asked that I relay his offer of assistance for your online service issues.
Sincerely Amy Sheehan Huntington Beach, CA
Please feel free to contact me at my work email address or phone number if you would like specifics or background info re this problem. -amy-
-- DSLR Phishtracker |
|
 Just Bob Premium join:2000-08-13 Spring Hill, FL
2 edits | Gee, ya don't think they did a take down on msmvps.com, do ya?
EDIT: I should have added a smiley...or maybe not. There are reports in the Dallas area of up to 18" of rain, record flooding, tens of thousands without power, and at least one fatality. |
|
  amysheehan Premium,VIP,MVM join:1999-12-21 Huntington Beach, CA
·RoadRunner Cable
| This problem has been escalated ----
Original Message: ----------------- From: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Date: Tue, 26 Jun 2007 11:38:45 -0500 (CDT) To: amysheehan dslr.net Subject: CASE-1136394c277.93.88.fa.72.2-CASE - www.wfaa.com
Dear Amy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us.
Your question has been forwarded to the appropriate department at WFAA.com.
We appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for your continued support.
Best Regards, Mike -- DSLR Phishtracker |
|
  Doctor Four My other vehicle is a TARDIS Premium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to Just Bob Re: Contact with wfaa -
said by Just Bob :Gee, ya don't think they did a take down on msmvps.com, do ya? EDIT: I should have added a smiley...or maybe not. There are reports in the Dallas are of up to 18" of rain, record flooding, tens of thousands without power, and at least one fatality. 3rd wettest June on record, and there is more rain yet to come. Forecasters are saying it could continue through the middle of next week.
Back on topic, a traceroute to msmvps.com seems to crap out at COLO4-DALLA.car2.Dallas1.Level3.net. Considering how much trouble there has been with their routers, it could be related (the more conspiracy minded would think it was a DDoS courtesy of the Winfixer gang, angry at being outed by Sandi yet again.) -- "The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot) We are the Hacker Collective: Resistance Is Futile - All Your AACS Keys Will Be Assimilated. |
|
  amysheehan Premium,VIP,MVM join:1999-12-21 Huntington Beach, CA | Dallas routing:
Related info: »Re: Is msmvps.com down?
 |
|