republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Scam] Is this site a scam?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1210
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Rock phish information »
« [Scam] Product scams targetting businesses  
AuthorAll Replies

brianiscool

join:2000-08-16
Miami, FL
[Scam] Is this site a scam?

thinkenergygroup.com ?


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest

The domain has existed since 2001:

Domain Name: THINKENERGYGROUP.COM
Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
Referral URL: »www.networksolutions.com
Name Server: NS1-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
Name Server: NS2-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
Name Server: NS3-AUTH.SPRINTLINK.NET
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 26-jun-2006
Creation Date: 20-aug-2001
Expiration Date: 20-aug-2011

A google search on the domain name returns a number of sites that link to THINKENERGYGROUP.COM.

I would guess it is legit, but that's mostly a guess.

--
AT&T dsl; Westell 2200 modem/router; SuSE 10.1; firefox 2.0.0.4

brianiscool

join:2000-08-16
Miami, FL
There links are all over the net, kind of shady.


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest

It is my default assumption, for dealing with any business, that their main goal is to make money. Maybe they provide a service that's useful for me, but I assume that is secondary to their main goal of making money. One should always be cautious about how far to trust a business with which you do not have prior experience.

I would distinguish between "is kind of shady" and "is a scam".

In particular, if I am looking for an employment agency, I would prefer to use one with a known established reputation. So I would be hesitant to deal with THINKENERGYGROUP.COM. But that does not mean that they are a scam outfit.
--
AT&T dsl; Westell 2200 modem/router; SuSE 10.1; firefox 2.0.0.4

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

reply to brianiscool
said by brianiscool See Profile :

thinkenergygroup.com ?
I second nwrickert See Profile and would go further in stating that at least the company checks out and passes the initial smell test.

I also give kudos to the CEO/CFO Paul Syiek for the transparency of their public records. The 6 year old domain THINKENERGYGROUP.COM is openly registered to the business address in Georgia and in the name of a corporate officer.

In addition the corporation is properly registered in the State of Georgia since 1988:




quote:
ThinkJobs.com, ThinkJobs, Thinc, Technical Jobs Fast, Technical Staffing Fast and ThinkEnergyGroup are registered trademark's ® of Think Resources, Inc.
Copyright ® 2007 Think Resources, Inc.

There is also history on Paul and his business: »www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=Paul+Syiek

Personally I have disdain for legitimate companies that cloak or obfuscate their records, which makes it difficult for an individual to establish whether they are a bonafide organization, and that certainly is not the case here. I did not run a BBS search.

Be advised that no one can guarantee you that you will have a positive experience. However, I am confident that you are referring to a company that really exists.

A couple of tips on employment companies / recruiters in general:

• Be wary of any company that requires an up front fee. In fact, fees are usually paid by the client company.

• Make sure that your expectations and that of a potential client company are similar.

• Never provide your SSN, DOB or other crucial identity data to an online company or service, unless you have first either met with them or are 100% confident that they are legitimate. Potential employers will never ask for your DOB until after the hiring process has begun. This is especially important if you post your resume on line. Online resumes should only contain a name and contact phone number.

MGD

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL


1 edit
reply to brianiscool
said by brianiscool See Profile :

There links are all over the net, kind of shady.
I saw a few spam complaints, did you find anything related to a scam. ??

MGD

EDIT= Some of their adds are:

quote:
20 % FEES!
Great contractor rates!
How do we do it.
..........
Volume. We place over
1000 people each year.
We get results!
...........
Call us
1-800-659-5639
We are in Atlanta, USA and are on EST.
..........
Ask for Robert Podsiadlo
or Paul Syiek


Not exactly a large operation, or claiming to be one.

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

reply to brianiscool
I only see one BBS report, which was resolved:




MGD


Doctor Four
My other vehicle is a TARDIS
Premium
join:2000-09-05
Dallas, TX
reply to brianiscool
Might want to see if anyone's posted about them on
Ripoff Report.


Kalford
Seems To Be An Rtfm Problem.
Premium,MVM
join:2001-03-20
Ontario

reply to brianiscool
This page on their site gives a "partial client list".

»www.thinkenergygroup.com/think.n···document

I think your best bet to found out whether they are legit would be to contact a selection of those companies and see what they have to say about the company.
--
Through My Eyes


s0tet

join:2005-06-08


1 edit
Think Resources is real. I used them way back in late 1990s for a temp job. After a few months or so, I was hired on permanently. This was in the Atlanta area and at the time I used them, they had just changed their name from something with Atlanta in the name to ThinkJobs. I asked them about the name change and they claimed they were expanding to other markets so they dropped "Atlanta" from their name. Their street address is different than what I recall. Way back in the crazy Dot Com days, they purchased large billboards in the Atlanta area for their advertising. I have not thought of them in quite a while. If you go to archive.org, you can see some old versions of their site for thinkjobs.com for year 2000.


Jobseeker 1

@ou.edu
reply to brianiscool
I called the number 800-659-5639 to return their call. I wonder why would they want to monitor or record the phone calls made. We are not dealing with credit cards or bank accounts, and its about job inquiries and not an interview.
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersRock phish information »
« [Scam] Product scams targetting businesses  


Saturday, 28-Nov 14:06:55 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [122] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [112] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [96] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [87] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [75] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [70] Verizon CEO: Hulu Will Be Dead Soon
· [69] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [62] Thanksgiving Open Thread
· [60] Weekend Open Thread
· [40] EFF Wages War On Fine Print
Most people now reading
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Using AirMax to provide triple play services? [Wireless Service Providers]
· Whats the big deal about being "Old School"....? [World of Warcraft]
· Why does it take so long? Mail question [General Questions]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· Why would I want an e reader? [General Questions]
· Play .avi file on TV's DVD player? [Audio/Video Chat]
· TPIA review by Electronic Box [Canadian Broadband]
· Gizmo5 has added a Google Voice section in its members area. [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Using DIR-615 C1/3.01 with Trendnet TEW-652BRP in N Mode [D-Link]