Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Rally3

join:2007-08-08
Marlborough, CT

Pole Tap...

Hey guys,

I recently had a Comcast Digital TV w/ HD programming install put on "hold" because their construction department needs to put in a pole tap (mid wire...something like that) on the power lines. I received a call from Comcast saying they would be checking it out within the next couple of days and they would call me back ASAP. It's been 3 days now, but I was just wondering if anyone else has run into a situation like this. If so, how long did it take?

Thanks for the responses in advance.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

if you have no TV service, then you might have needed a tap cut it on the line...(mid span)....

why not make it at the pole and run a mid span drop, i dunno, but thats whatever...

either way...sounds like you dont have service at the moment through comcast?

Rally3

Marlborough, CT

That's the word...haha. Mid-span. But no, I do not have service through Comcast. I have my DSL and phone through AT&T. I was told that I would receive a call within a day or two and I hadn't received that call. So I just called customer service and they told me they will contact me within a week now. We'll see how it goes. Thanks.

cypherstream
Premium,MVM
join:2004-12-02
Reading, PA
kudos:3
reply to gar187er

Do they have to put the jackson bends in the cable or whatever it's called midspan also? Or are those just to help reinforce the feeder at the pole to compensate for physical line stress and prevent suckout?

Yeah why can't they put the tap at the pole, run the drop to the midspan and clamp it there?

gar187er
I do this for a living

Dover, DE
reply to Rally3

theres an area near me that has a run of mid span taps...they run across the street to the sub poles.....but i still never got the point behind mid span taps....must be an old school thing....