 EGeezerSummertimePremium join:2002-08-04 Midwest kudos:7 Reviews:
·Callcentric
| Another variation of the greeting card virus spreaderNow it's a subscription to a service the spamee didn't ask for.
Dear Member,
Thank You for Joining Joke-A-Day.
User Number: 8814123239 Your Login ID: user5632 Password ID: wk333
Please Change your login and change your Login Information.
Use this link to change your Login info: ht tp://aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/
Welcome, Membership Services Joke-A-Day
Like the greeting card spams, the site indicates the dear reader must install something and provides an IP address link to an executable - code here;
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Server: nginx/0.5.17
Date: Tue, 21 Aug 2007 05:40:50 GMT
Content-Type: text/html
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Connection: close
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.1
6b
If you do not see the Secure Login Window please install our <a href="/applet.exe">Secure Login Applet</a>.
0
Content-Expire: 1
This one is undoubtedly hosted by some unfortunate Cox customer with an infected PC.
PTR record is ip72-193-246-37.lv.lv.cox.net. Still live as of this post. |
|
|
|
 | Haha
Looks like a funny spammer indeed. I really have no spam like these what soever. I guess my KIS is doing a great job -- Kaspersky Labs Fan Club Project Manager forum.kasperskyclub.com |
|
 | reply to EGeezer Damn I have yet to see a greeting card virus...I guess I get no love. |
|
 BIGbadjohnJFK, Thank-you SirPremium join:2003-03-05 Ireland | reply to EGeezer Got one myself this morning, we must be among the first recipients of this generous offer!  |
|
 | reply to EGeezer I think you must be indeed. haha  As long as you won't open anything you'll keep laughing -- Kaspersky Labs Fan Club Project Manager forum.kasperskyclub.com |
|
 MagManLife is simpler when you tell the truth.Premium join:2003-10-01 Westlake, OH Reviews:
·AT&T Midwest
·AT&T Midwest
| reply to EGeezer Yes Sir this is one that I received. 
New Member,
Welcome To Wine Lovers.
User Number: 8165971419 Temorary Login: user6050 Temorary Password: vr634
Please keep your account secure by logging in and changing your login info.
Click here to enter our secure server: »xxxxxxxxxxx
Welcome, Technical Services Wine Lovers -- "The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is." |
|
 | reply to EGeezer YEah got one in my SPAM folder which I never look at.
Welcome Member,
We are so happy you joined Entertaining Pros.
User Number: 727617979 Your Temp. Login ID: user1460 Your Password ID: gl537
Please Change your login and change your Login Information.
Click here to enter our secure server: »8 6.1 30.2 51.1 99/
Enjoy, Internet Support Entertaining Pros |
|
 caffeinatorComing soon to a cup near you..Premium join:2005-01-16 WA, USA kudos:3 Reviews:
·CenturyLink
| reply to EGeezer I've been getting more of these again lately too, but as I don't actually download any emails from my server, I don't much care.
Use a real server, use non-html, non-JS, non-inline-image email with AV.
Problem solved. 
Email worms/virus/etc. can kiss my shiny silicon buttocks.
-CaFF -- "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - A. Einstein
Need an Avatar? Check out Wafen's Avatar Pages |
|
 BIGbadjohnJFK, Thank-you SirPremium join:2003-03-05 Ireland | said by caffeinator:I've been getting more of these again lately too, but as I don't actually download any emails from my server, I don't much care. -CaFF Likewise here. I have Mailwasher and it is a blessing for these nuisance spam emails.  |
|
 nwrickertsand groperPremium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL kudos:7 Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to EGeezer See thread »[Phish] Login Information in the »Scam and Phishbusters forum. -- AT&T dsl; Westell 2200 modem/router; SuSE 10.1; firefox 2.0.0.5 |
|
 kpatzMY HEAD A SPLODEPremium join:2003-06-13 Manchester, NH | Also here: »Fake e-card viruses getting harder to stop |
|
 cabanaDepartment of AdjustmentsAssistant join:2000-07-07 New York, NY Host: AT&T Southeast 56k Lookout! (broa..
2 edits | got two in the office mail this morning:
Greetings,
Welcome To Office Antics.
Member Number: 36959114545 Your Temp. Login ID: user1332 Temp Password ID: bp828
Please Change your login and change your Login Information.
Follow this Link: (disable) 83.248.36.119/
Thank You, Support Department Office Antics
and
Welcome,
Welcome To WebTunes.
User Number: 77179118 Login ID: user2230 Your Temp. Password ID: dz442
Be Secure. Change your Login ID and Password.
Follow this link, or paste it in your browser: disable 76.226.0.118/
Welcome, Internet Support WebTunes |
|
 KeysCaptPremium,Mod join:2001-07-11 Keys Exile kudos:1 | reply to EGeezer Got four of these today, all to my DSLR mail account. Cat lovers, dog lovers, and a couple of others. MailWasher is now deleting them by filter. |
|
 jimkyleBtrieve GuyPremium join:2002-10-20 Oklahoma City, OK kudos:2 Reviews:
·AT&T Southwest
| reply to EGeezer In the last 24 hours I've gotten a couple dozen of these and some of them are quite persistent. My Bayesian filtering plug-in seems to be trapping most of them now, but a few still manage to make it through.
One reason I'm getting so many is that one of my mail addresses has to be publicly visible on my commercial web site, and it's long since been added to the spammers' lists. I also got some 50 bounce messages Sunday morning, making it plain that someone has spoofed my address as the origin for some attack. While I have SPF in place on that domain, it doesn't seem to make much difference to most mail servers that send bounce messages... -- Jim Kyle |
|
 | reply to EGeezer A short analysis of this latest variant I just finished: »blog.misec.net/2007/08/21/latest···-emails/ -- Mischel Internet Security http://www.misec.net |
|
 jaykaykay4 Ever YoungPremium,MVM join:2000-04-13 Scottsdale, AZ kudos:19 Reviews:
·Speakeasy
| reply to EGeezer I get these darned things all the time. Happy to say, I didn't notice if I got anything like this one specifically as all my Spam, other than one or 2 a month, merely land in my ISP's filter. I can then look at the sender and title and know if it's something I've been waiting for or that is legit. If so, the address is put in my white list. Otherwise, each and everyone of them is put in deleted without opening. Speakeasy's filter really works well, I am pleased to say. I also am pleased to say that I learned long ago, be careful what I open. Most of the Spam I get should be under a heading of Joke A Day...some of the sender's names are hysterical. However, I don't take any of this c**p as a joke. I wish people would learn not to open and click on everything they get.  -- JKK
Age is a very high price to pay for my maturity. If I can't stay young, I can at least stay immature!
»www.pbase.com/jaykaykay
|
|
 Jrb2Premium join:2001-08-31 kudos:3 | reply to MagnusM Thanks Magnus ! |
|
 kokuryu join:2000-10-10 Hollywood, FL | reply to EGeezer I received one for "Free Ringtones" that made me suspicious - it was hosted by a company in Switzerland. The direct IP address was not responding, but the sub-domain associated with it was responding. |
|
 StraitShootWho Loves Ya Baby? - Theo KojakPremium join:2003-02-08 Clinton, MA kudos:1 | reply to EGeezer I've gotten all the above and Avast detected them all... |
|
 EGeezerSummertimePremium join:2002-08-04 Midwest kudos:7 Reviews:
·Callcentric
| said by StraitShoot:I've gotten all the above and Avast detected them all... I don't know if my AV would have detected them - I deleted the emails at RR's mail servers and used Sam Spade to read the linked addresses. |
|