Search similar:

uniqs
unbtable
join:2007-09-13

1 edit

unbtable

opening ports in modem [Solved, thanks!]

Hello

First thing I should say is that I am a novice user. It took a long time on a voice client with a gaming friend to discover what the problem is.

my question is: how do i open ports in the speedstream 4200's firewall ( I do believe it has one, right?)

I just recently set up a network, and previous to that, I could allow these ports through by fiddling with a gateway that appeared in network connections of the computer directly hooked to the modem. Now that I have the router hooked to the modem (and yes, port-forwards are set up correctly and are working) this does not work anymore. I tried the configuration panel (typed ip address of modem in browser bar) and I can't find any useful settings in there whatsoever. Would a factory reset give me some access to the options I need?

TIA for any time spent typing a response to this newb

unbtable
newf7
join:2007-09-11
Brampton, ON

newf7

Re: opening ports in modem

I don't use that modem but you may find this helpful.
»www.portforward.com/engl ··· ndex.htm
Jorge23
join:2007-09-11
Toronto

Jorge23 to unbtable

to unbtable
I don't have good news, I personally had a speedstream 4200 until I changed to a 2wire. The S.S is listed here Port Forward as a router, but Bell will deny that it is. I called in about port forwarding the 4200 and I was told by their tech reps that they didn't have access to it, that I'd have to call Siemens directly. They said they don't block any ports.