www.broadbandreports.com
  republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   AllHot TopicsGalleryFTP Files






how-to block ads


 
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers » Rogers blocking some .ru sites
 
Search Topic:
  Social:
topic feed
 
Posting
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Post a:
Post a:
[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON


edit:
October 29th, @11:18AM

Rogers blocking some .ru sites

Couldn't find any related posts on this upon searching here.
I have been with Rogers for about 3 years. I have also been a customer of www.gomusic.ru. It's a Russian owned site that sells mp3's. There is question about the legality of a site like this but that's for a different forum. Recently I haven't been able to access the gomusic site so I called Rogers tech support and after several back and forth calls I have been informed that Rogers is blocking SOME .ru sites. They claim those site are a threat to the security of the Rogers network. There's a couple of fishy things about this though. If I ping www.gomusic.ru I don't get a response. If I ping its ip address (77.220.179.14) I get a response. The tech support staff at Rogers can still access www.gomusic.ru (which was causing confusion when I called them).
Does this make sense to anybody else?
What other sites is Rogers blocking?


HiVolt
Premium
join:2000-12-28
Toronto, ON
clubs:
Works fine here...

Have you tried to change your DNS servers? Try the Level3 ones, 4.2.2.1, 4.2.2.2.
--
GO LEAFS GO!

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON
Now I'm really confused. They told me they're blocking all customers from these sites.
I'll look up how to to do a DNS change when I get home. Thanks.


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed

Host:
Rogers
Bell Sympatico

edit:
October 29th, @11:54AM

I think you'll find that the REAL answer to this problem is the 99.* IP addresses

Ask the Russian site to check their deny list ... I think you'll find that the 99.* range is in their list of bogons.

Point them to ARIN.NET using ROGERS-CAB-99 to do a whois to reveal the following ... which shows that Rogers is in fact using these ranges and should be pulled out of their deny lists.

Here's the listing ...

Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-192-75-13-0-1) 192.75.13.0 - 192.75.13.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-205-251-0-0-1) 205.251.0.0 - 205.251.255.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-74-96-0-0-1) 74.96.0.0 - 74.124.159.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-99-224-0-0-1) 99.224.0.0 - 99.253.159.255

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-10-28 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Rogers doesn't "block" sites.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON


edit:
October 29th, @12:21PM

You know this was their original response but upon further investigation they admitted that the security department was blocking some of these .ru sites. I even spoke a to a supervisor who told me that. Hopefully it was just some miscommunication in the chain of command there.
Thanks for your help.

And just so I don't sound like some crazy there's others who have experienced this.
»www.aom3.org/forum/gomusic-ru/46···e-3.html
post #30


anon5645654

@rogers.com
I'm using opendns and have a 99. ip and can get to that site without issues.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON

In any case if someone else has time for it I would suggest calling up tech support and "pretend" to have problems connecting to this site and they will tell you that Rogers security is blocking certain .ru sites for "security" reasons. I'm not making this up, they told me this twice on Saturday and I just called them again and they told me the same thing. They are blocking sites (or at least certain customers from certain sites).


now123

@rogers.com
reply to E DesRock
Odd, I'm on 99.x.x.x and can access it using opendns, but not rogers dns.


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed

Host:
Rogers
Bell Sympatico
So, it's not really a case of "blocking" the site ... it's just that their DNS server isn't resolving them.

There's on 1 technical reason I could think of to remove these from the DNS and that's to stop spam / spambots that might be operating from them.


habskilla

join:2005-09-19
Moncton, NB
I thought you can block incoming and leave outgoing alone? Or does the outbound get block because noting can make it back?
--
Stay away from any and all Roger's products.


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed

Host:
Rogers
Bell Sympatico
You can block incoming based on IP which would leave outgoing alone. But that's on an application basis ... vis email, web server. It doesn't block some of the spambots operating with odd ports etc.

Dumping based on IP is possible, particularly with the throttling service engines! But dumping on individual IPs at a router / service engine level would result in routing tables beyond belief!

Not resolving the DNS gets rid of lots of web beacons etc. that are put on other web pages or buried in emails.

tj_blues

join:2007-08-17
Mississauga, ON

reply to sbrook
sbrook -- you got it wrong -- Rogers DNS doesn't resolve this domain but you're right to the point that Rogers doesn't block it I just tried to reach this site from couple of different Rogers locations (WiFi rules!!) and had no access to it.

tj
--
In a World without fences and walls,
who needs Gates and Windows?

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON
reply to E DesRock
Well I tried switching to the 4.2.2.1 & 2 DNS's and I can now connect to gomusic.ru with my 90. ip address.


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
Rogers DNS feed routinely gets messed up and they do lose the resolution for all kinds of sites, not just Russian ... American, West European et al.

An ISPs DNS is as good as its feed.


rbmk

join:2007-02-18
Toronto, ON
·Rogers Hi-Speed


edit:
October 29th, @10:01PM

reply to E DesRock
I don't think Rogers blocks it - they just tell that so you don't bother them. I worked in a grocery store and sometimes we tell annoying customers that we don't have something, when actually we do.
I think the site blocks Rogers new IPs, since I have this new 99* IP address and I cannot access it directly. However if I use a Brazilian proxy - it opens no problem.


Paul Newman

@eastlink.ca

reply to E DesRock
I am not positive but I have heard Rogers has joined many companies worldwide that are blocking those Russian hosted web sites. This story talks about other companies doing exactally what the Rogers tech support folks are saying Rogers does.

»blog.washingtonpost.com/security···s_n.html

I have also heard of this being escalated at Rogers by tech support and the final result is they are indeed blocking those sites howeever some you are able to get to by using ip.

On a personal note, if what I have read in many articles as of late regarding these sites is true,I am thankful Rogers has the balls to block them.


NeTwOrKDawg
Networking is a lifestyle

join:2005-04-25
Brantford, ON
reply to sbrook
DNS feed? sbrook there is no such thing as a DNS feed....


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
Of course there isn't ... the DNS entries come magically out of the ether.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON

reply to rbmk
said by rbmk See Profile :

I don't think Rogers blocks it - they just tell that so you don't bother them. I worked in a grocery store and sometimes we tell annoying customers that we don't have something, when actually we do.
I would wouldn't consider myself an annoying customer by asking why I can't get to a site that is selling music. I asked to speak to someone who could explain what security threats gomusic.ru was introducing to the Rogers network but they wouldn't put me past a tech support supervisor.

said by Paul Newman :

On a personal note, if what I have read in many articles as of late regarding these sites is true,I am thankful Rogers has the balls to block them.
I agree that there are sites that may pose a threat. I also think that Rogers has every right to block any site they wish (just like a news paper can print fake news) it's their service/business. However I've been using Gomusic for over two years (using the same credit card through ChronoPay) and I've never had a negative occurrence as a result of visiting that site. If Rogers just came right out and said "yeah we don't agree with this site selling unprotected mp3 tracks for $0.19" I'd respect that a lot more. This is, of course, speculation.


dkhfdg

@rogers.com
reply to E DesRock
Why are you even paying for mp3s? You do know that it is legal to download mp3s in Canada right?
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  
page: 1 · 2

Most commented news this week
· [137] Nation's Largest ISPs Crafting Fake National Broadband Policy
· [106] Apple: 1 Million 3G iPhones Sold In 3 Days
· [98] Don't Fear The Bandwidth Apocalypse
· [94] Bell Canada Devises Backup Plan To Kill Wholesale Competitors
· [90] Xbox 360 Gets Netflix Streaming
· [79] AT&T's Latest VRAD Headache: Graffiti
· [76] San Fran IT Admin Holds City Network Hostage
· [72] XM/Sirius Merger Held Up In Face Of New Requirements
· [66] Bell Canada: Throttling Aids Innovation
· [66] The Worst iPhone Data Plans In The World
Sunday, 20-Jul
05:13:37
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
8th year online! © 1999-2008 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF