 E DesRock
join:2007-10-29 Etobicoke, ON | reply to dkhfdg Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites
said by dkhfdg :
Why are you even paying for mp3s? You do know that it is legal to download mp3s in Canada right? Because I'm a sucker. |
|
  coolsail
@rogers.com
| reply to E DesRock I too noticed that I cannot access either gomusic.ru or mp3search.ru anymore.
I can access from work and spouse's work (different ISPs)
I've sent Rogers 3 emails asking for an explanation - but have yet to get a response.
Interestingly, a friend of mine has Roger's Business Service at his office in Markham, and he can access gomusic.ru.ru (but not mp3search.ru) |
|
  anon456546
@rogers.com | SIMPLE SOLUTION!!!
USE A DIFFERENT DNS SERVER.
Opendns is a good one. |
|
  coolsail
@rogers.com | reply to E DesRock You're right! Changed the DNS to 4.2.2.1 and hey presto, it works. You're a genius! |
|
  rbmk
join:2007-02-18 Toronto, ON
·Rogers Hi-Speed
| reply to E DesRock said by E DesRock : I would wouldn't consider myself an annoying customer by asking why I can't get to a site that is selling music.
That wasn't my point. I am not telling who is annoying and who is not. What I was trying to say is this. If you want bread, it's isle #3, if you want bread that you ate while in Arctic during the traditional midnight dancing festival - we don't have that. Same with Rogers - they will not go into that much detail, like examining some Russian site that sells cheap mp3s.
Cheers. |
|
  Kimmikat
@rogers.com
| reply to E DesRock I am having trouble accessing the site too. I have been using it for quite a while now. Suddenly I can't get on. I also tried to get onto other russian sites and no luck. Suspitious to say the least. I am sure ebay also has a russian link for selling and I can't find it now. Wierd. Something is going on. |
|
 kliles
join:2007-06-26 Mississauga, ON
| reply to NeTwOrKDawg Well, using the term "feed" may have insinuated something unintended... DNS servers receive zone file updates from other servers (hence the notion of a "feed").
Rogers DNS servers have a history of problems (no surprise there)
I would recommend hard wiring 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 (the Level3 dns servers) or some other public dns servers. They are very up to date and run behind some fail-safe technology. OPENDNS is another possibility although I am not thrilled about the way they "help" correct apparent typing errors in domain name lookups and some of their other data collection policies. |
|
  Gvidon
@rogers.com
| reply to Kimmikat An excerpt from Rogers's tech support letter: [...] "We understand your frustration and apologize for any inconvenience.
The domains are blocked indefinitely. Any domains with the following Name Servers ns3.nic.ru and ns4.nic.ru have been blocked by our network department due to abuse and threat (DNS attack) to our network. The Ban will not be lifted.
For this issue, please contact the website s hosting provider. [...] |
|
 E DesRock
join:2007-10-29 Etobicoke, ON
1 edit | reply to E DesRock Just an FYI on this matter. I can no longer access the gomusic.ru site using the 4.2.2.x dns servers or the opendns servers. Can anybody else confirm this?
[Edit] My bad, I can access the site, it just takes an extremely long time to load anything from it. I tried it from my work account (not on Rogers network) through vpn and I don't see these load issues. |
|
 justlooking
join:2003-06-10
| reply to E DesRock They only work through a proxy here. Haven't tried changing dns servers.
»www.proxyjoe.com/nph-proxy.pl/00···usic.ru/
»www.tunneldrop.com/nph-proxy.pl/···arch.ru/ |
|
  Hi
@rogers.com
| reply to E DesRock I couldn't access www.odnoklassniki.ru for more than a month using Rogers internet. Technical support declared that that site is a threat to their security as well. It's the most harmless site I could possibly think of. So I ended up using OpenDNS (www.opendns.com) servers and trashing the Rogers DNS server. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | It's not that the *site* is a threat ... it's that there have been attacks from the IP address netblock hosting that site. |
|
  screwdbyrogers
@rogers.com
| reply to E DesRock I have used a streaming audio site to listen to music online for about 3-4 months. The site is www.deezer.com it appears to be blocked in the last week as I can no longer access it from home. I am able to access the site via a proxy but it doesn't support the flash player. can anyone who uses rogers access this site? |
|
  Rigger
@rogers.com
| reply to E DesRock "DNS servers receive zone file updates from other servers"
That's only true if they are secondary dns servers. DNS servers cache individual records unless they are authoritative for that domain.
"www.dlsreports.com. A 24.24.24.24" would be cached in Rogers DNS servers for a certain length of time, defined in the SOA record for dlsreports.com, but they would not copy the entire zone. (nor would they normally be allowed to.)
If www.dlsreports.com is not in the cache of the DNS server, then it goes up a level to dlsreports.com. and sees if it has any info on that. Then it goes to com. and then finally (if it doesn't have any useful info cached at all) it goes to the . servers, called the 'root' servers. These servers are statically configured on every DNS server so that if the server knows absoultly nothing, it at least knows where the root servers are...
Now, to the question at hand, maybe the .ru DNS servers are messed up? Or the DNS servers that hold the authority records for the site you are trying to answer....
Just my 2(00) cents. |
|
  Igoryok
@rogers.com
| reply to E DesRock Rogers rep has told me that Rogers blocks ru domains. I can not access say stihi.ru I can do it through a proxy or sympatico. I have been with rogers seven years and now I am so p..... off! Is it technical, security or political issue? Anyway, why I can access the sites from sympatico a block away and not from my home? Need advice asap. |
|
  luma Premium join:2004-08-17 Ottawa, ON | that is funny because I can get to that specific site (stihi.ru) and to many other .ru websites.
I don't think Rogers would start blocking websites.
Luma |
|
  ROGERSUCKS
@rogers.com
| reply to E DesRock I complained about not being able to access odnoklassniki.ru. This is the response I got from Rogers:
___________________________________________________________ We understand your frustration and apologize for any inconvenience.
The domains are blocked indefinitely. Any domains with the following Name Servers ns3.nic.ru and ns4.nic.ru have been blocked by our network department due to abuse and threat (DNS attack) to our network. The Ban will not be lifted.
For this issue, please contact the website s hosting provider.
In addition, you can also try to access the website by its IP address. To find the IP address, please visit »www.dnsstuff.com/ ________________________________________________________
ROGERS SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
| Change your DNS servers to OpenDNS ... that will get you to these sites. Rogers is only trying to protect its own network and its customers from the abuse and denial of service attacks that have come from domains pointed to by those nameservers.
I congratulate them actually for at least putting the domains pointed to by this nameserver in a partial blackhole because they are notorious sources of spam and malware. |
|
  tom gifford
@bell.ca
1 edit | reply to E DesRock Yes Rogers is Blocking Sites. I have been using www.mp3search.ru for years and have been wondering why it stopped working. After much research, I find that Rogers has decided to block entire russian domains. My concern is that they have done this without a memo or any additions to their technical FAQ.
{Rogers tech chat session removed} |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
| Was it absolutely essential to post the whole of your conversation, the essence of which is already in this post »Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites earlier in this thread???? All it really shows is your long rant at the Rogers tech.
Rogers is NOT blocking sites ... they are just not entered in Rogers DNS servers. If you want to get to them, specify alternate DNS servers in your TCP/IP setup in windows, or if you have a cable router, in there. Then you will be able to get to these sites.
All the sites not entered in their DNS servers are using the host Name Servers ns3.nic.ru and ns4.nic.ru due to high volumes of spam, trojans and DNS attacks eminating from these domains. They've taken the quicker way out and turned off DNS resolution for all sites using these Name Servers ... it's a lot easier than tracing hundreds of domains that are changing their names daily. |
|