  HiVolt Premium join:2000-12-28 Toronto, ON clubs: | reply to E DesRock Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites
Works fine here...
Have you tried to change your DNS servers? Try the Level3 ones, 4.2.2.1, 4.2.2.2. -- GO LEAFS GO! |
|
 E DesRock
join:2007-10-29 Etobicoke, ON | Now I'm really confused. They told me they're blocking all customers from these sites. I'll look up how to to do a DNS change when I get home. Thanks. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
1 edit | I think you'll find that the REAL answer to this problem is the 99.* IP addresses
Ask the Russian site to check their deny list ... I think you'll find that the 99.* range is in their list of bogons.
Point them to ARIN.NET using ROGERS-CAB-99 to do a whois to reveal the following ... which shows that Rogers is in fact using these ranges and should be pulled out of their deny lists.
Here's the listing ...
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-192-75-13-0-1) 192.75.13.0 - 192.75.13.255 Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-205-251-0-0-1) 205.251.0.0 - 205.251.255.255 Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-74-96-0-0-1) 74.96.0.0 - 74.124.159.255 Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-99-224-0-0-1) 99.224.0.0 - 99.253.159.255
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-10-28 19:10 # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
Rogers doesn't "block" sites. |
|
 E DesRock
join:2007-10-29 Etobicoke, ON
1 edit | You know this was their original response but upon further investigation they admitted that the security department was blocking some of these .ru sites. I even spoke a to a supervisor who told me that. Hopefully it was just some miscommunication in the chain of command there. Thanks for your help.
And just so I don't sound like some crazy there's others who have experienced this. »www.aom3.org/forum/gomusic-ru/46···e-3.html post #30 |
|
  anon5645654
@rogers.com | I'm using opendns and have a 99. ip and can get to that site without issues. |
|
 E DesRock
join:2007-10-29 Etobicoke, ON
| In any case if someone else has time for it I would suggest calling up tech support and "pretend" to have problems connecting to this site and they will tell you that Rogers security is blocking certain .ru sites for "security" reasons. I'm not making this up, they told me this twice on Saturday and I just called them again and they told me the same thing. They are blocking sites (or at least certain customers from certain sites). |
|