republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers » Rogers blocking some .ru sites
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  
AuthorAll Replies

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON
reply to HiVolt
Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites

Now I'm really confused. They told me they're blocking all customers from these sites.
I'll look up how to to do a DNS change when I get home. Thanks.


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed

Host:
Rogers
Bell Canada

1 edit
I think you'll find that the REAL answer to this problem is the 99.* IP addresses

Ask the Russian site to check their deny list ... I think you'll find that the 99.* range is in their list of bogons.

Point them to ARIN.NET using ROGERS-CAB-99 to do a whois to reveal the following ... which shows that Rogers is in fact using these ranges and should be pulled out of their deny lists.

Here's the listing ...

Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-192-75-13-0-1) 192.75.13.0 - 192.75.13.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-205-251-0-0-1) 205.251.0.0 - 205.251.255.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-74-96-0-0-1) 74.96.0.0 - 74.124.159.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-99-224-0-0-1) 99.224.0.0 - 99.253.159.255

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-10-28 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Rogers doesn't "block" sites.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON


1 edit
You know this was their original response but upon further investigation they admitted that the security department was blocking some of these .ru sites. I even spoke a to a supervisor who told me that. Hopefully it was just some miscommunication in the chain of command there.
Thanks for your help.

And just so I don't sound like some crazy there's others who have experienced this.
»www.aom3.org/forum/gomusic-ru/46···e-3.html
post #30


anon5645654

@rogers.com
I'm using opendns and have a 99. ip and can get to that site without issues.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON

In any case if someone else has time for it I would suggest calling up tech support and "pretend" to have problems connecting to this site and they will tell you that Rogers security is blocking certain .ru sites for "security" reasons. I'm not making this up, they told me this twice on Saturday and I just called them again and they told me the same thing. They are blocking sites (or at least certain customers from certain sites).
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  


Wednesday, 09-Dec 06:10:15 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [194] Sprint Sued For Distracted Driving Death
· [81] 3G Network Test Says AT&T Is Tops
· [72] Mediacom Unveils 105 Mbps Pricing
· [62] Sprint Poised For A Turnaround?
· [50] The Future Of Wi-Fi Is Bright
· [50] WPA Cracker: Test WPA-PSK Networks In 20 Minutes
· [47] Site Leaks Yahoo, Verizon Fed Data Share Pricing
· [44] Microwaving Your Innards Is Not 'Extreme'
· [39] Verizon LTE: 5-12 Mbps Downstream
· [21] AT&T Releases Network Reporting iPhone App
Most people now reading
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Comcast refused to install 400' feet. [Comcast HSI]
· ICC Strats??? [World of Warcraft]
· [How to] Install Asterisk on an Asus WL-520GU router [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Servers UP!!! [World of Warcraft]
· Maximizing Rogue DPS for 3.1 [World of Warcraft]
· Tomato/MLPPP v3 alpha 6 released! [TekSavvy]
· Microsoft Security Bulletin(s) for December 8, 2009 [Security]
· Extjs grid combo box. [Webmasters and Developers]
· [WIN7] Outlook express under Windows 7? [Microsoft Help]