Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers » Rogers blocking some .ru sites
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  
AuthorAll Replies

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON

reply to anon5645654
Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites

In any case if someone else has time for it I would suggest calling up tech support and "pretend" to have problems connecting to this site and they will tell you that Rogers security is blocking certain .ru sites for "security" reasons. I'm not making this up, they told me this twice on Saturday and I just called them again and they told me the same thing. They are blocking sites (or at least certain customers from certain sites).


anon5645654

@rogers.com
reply to E DesRock
I'm using opendns and have a 99. ip and can get to that site without issues.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON


1 edit
reply to sbrook
You know this was their original response but upon further investigation they admitted that the security department was blocking some of these .ru sites. I even spoke a to a supervisor who told me that. Hopefully it was just some miscommunication in the chain of command there.
Thanks for your help.

And just so I don't sound like some crazy there's others who have experienced this.
»www.aom3.org/forum/gomusic-ru/46···e-3.html
post #30


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed

Host:
Rogers
Bell Canada

1 edit
reply to E DesRock
I think you'll find that the REAL answer to this problem is the 99.* IP addresses

Ask the Russian site to check their deny list ... I think you'll find that the 99.* range is in their list of bogons.

Point them to ARIN.NET using ROGERS-CAB-99 to do a whois to reveal the following ... which shows that Rogers is in fact using these ranges and should be pulled out of their deny lists.

Here's the listing ...

Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-192-75-13-0-1) 192.75.13.0 - 192.75.13.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-205-251-0-0-1) 205.251.0.0 - 205.251.255.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-74-96-0-0-1) 74.96.0.0 - 74.124.159.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-99-224-0-0-1) 99.224.0.0 - 99.253.159.255

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-10-28 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Rogers doesn't "block" sites.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON
reply to HiVolt
Now I'm really confused. They told me they're blocking all customers from these sites.
I'll look up how to to do a DNS change when I get home. Thanks.
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  


Friday, 04-Dec 13:08:56 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [144] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [116] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [99] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [72] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
· [71] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [70] Baltimore To Ban Lazy Cable Installs
· [64] Broadband Killed The Game Console
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· Blade servers [TekSavvy]
· [Rant] Disrespect of PTO [Rants, Raves, and Praise]
· An Excellent Guide About Google Voice And Sip Sorcery [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Is Usenet targettable under ACTA? [TekSavvy]
· Many Sites Unreachable [Rogers]
· IMG 1.7 (IMG Updates and Discussion) [Verizon FIOS TV]
· Equal speeds ruling [Canadian Broadband]