Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers » Rogers blocking some .ru sites
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  
AuthorAll Replies


sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed

Host:
Rogers
Bell Canada

1 edit
reply to E DesRock
Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites

I think you'll find that the REAL answer to this problem is the 99.* IP addresses

Ask the Russian site to check their deny list ... I think you'll find that the 99.* range is in their list of bogons.

Point them to ARIN.NET using ROGERS-CAB-99 to do a whois to reveal the following ... which shows that Rogers is in fact using these ranges and should be pulled out of their deny lists.

Here's the listing ...

Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-192-75-13-0-1) 192.75.13.0 - 192.75.13.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-205-251-0-0-1) 205.251.0.0 - 205.251.255.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-74-96-0-0-1) 74.96.0.0 - 74.124.159.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-99-224-0-0-1) 99.224.0.0 - 99.253.159.255

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-10-28 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Rogers doesn't "block" sites.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON


1 edit
You know this was their original response but upon further investigation they admitted that the security department was blocking some of these .ru sites. I even spoke a to a supervisor who told me that. Hopefully it was just some miscommunication in the chain of command there.
Thanks for your help.

And just so I don't sound like some crazy there's others who have experienced this.
»www.aom3.org/forum/gomusic-ru/46···e-3.html
post #30


anon5645654

@rogers.com
I'm using opendns and have a 99. ip and can get to that site without issues.

E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON

In any case if someone else has time for it I would suggest calling up tech support and "pretend" to have problems connecting to this site and they will tell you that Rogers security is blocking certain .ru sites for "security" reasons. I'm not making this up, they told me this twice on Saturday and I just called them again and they told me the same thing. They are blocking sites (or at least certain customers from certain sites).
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  


Sunday, 06-Dec 08:10:22 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [147] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [128] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [125] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [105] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [85] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [82] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [81] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [75] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Wife might have to work in.... Iowa for a few months!!! [General Questions]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· [ PVP] 3.2 DK PvP D/W Spec... [World of Warcraft]
· Enhancement Shaman + Heirlooms, what to pick? [World of Warcraft]
· First commercial tool to crack BitLocker arrives (Updated) [Security]
· Is there any true cure for, or way to prevent, a hangover? [General Questions]
· [DNS] Google's public DNS... performance increases? [Comcast HSI]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]