Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers » Rogers blocking some .ru sites
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  

sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed

Host:
Rogers
Bell Canada

1 edit

Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites

I think you'll find that the REAL answer to this problem is the 99.* IP addresses

Ask the Russian site to check their deny list ... I think you'll find that the 99.* range is in their list of bogons.

Point them to ARIN.NET using ROGERS-CAB-99 to do a whois to reveal the following ... which shows that Rogers is in fact using these ranges and should be pulled out of their deny lists.

Here's the listing ...

Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-192-75-13-0-1) 192.75.13.0 - 192.75.13.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-205-251-0-0-1) 205.251.0.0 - 205.251.255.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-74-96-0-0-1) 74.96.0.0 - 74.124.159.255
Rogers Cable Communications Inc. ROGERS-CAB-99 (NET-99-224-0-0-1) 99.224.0.0 - 99.253.159.255

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-10-28 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Rogers doesn't "block" sites.
E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON


1 edit

Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites

You know this was their original response but upon further investigation they admitted that the security department was blocking some of these .ru sites. I even spoke a to a supervisor who told me that. Hopefully it was just some miscommunication in the chain of command there.
Thanks for your help.

And just so I don't sound like some crazy there's others who have experienced this.
»www.aom3.org/forum/gomusic-ru/46···e-3.html
post #30

anon5645654

@rogers.com

Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites

I'm using opendns and have a 99. ip and can get to that site without issues.
E DesRock

join:2007-10-29
Etobicoke, ON

Re: Rogers blocking some .ru sites

In any case if someone else has time for it I would suggest calling up tech support and "pretend" to have problems connecting to this site and they will tell you that Rogers security is blocking certain .ru sites for "security" reasons. I'm not making this up, they told me this twice on Saturday and I just called them again and they told me the same thing. They are blocking sites (or at least certain customers from certain sites).
Forums » O Canada! » Canadian » Rogers[ Express] Dropping every so oftern »
« Pinging www.rogers.com  


Wednesday, 09-Dec 13:06:56 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [197] Sprint Sued For Distracted Driving Death
· [81] 3G Network Test Says AT&T Is Tops
· [72] Mediacom Unveils 105 Mbps Pricing
· [71] AT&T Launching New 24 Mbps U-Verse Tier
· [65] Sprint Poised For A Turnaround?
· [58] WPA Cracker: Test WPA-PSK Networks In 20 Minutes
· [50] The Future Of Wi-Fi Is Bright
· [47] Site Leaks Yahoo, Verizon Fed Data Share Pricing
· [44] Microwaving Your Innards Is Not 'Extreme'
· [39] Verizon LTE: 5-12 Mbps Downstream
Most people now reading
· Comcast refused to install 400' feet. [Comcast HSI]
· The aftermath [World of Warcraft]
· HOA Headaches [General Questions]
· Cross Server Dungeon Experience [World of Warcraft]
· Is sleeping similar to being dead? [General Questions]
· Buzzing whatchamacallit in ceiling...?? Help identify. [Home Repair & Improvement]
· ICC strats [World of Warcraft]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Smoke detectors gone wild [Home Repair & Improvement]
· IMG 1.7 (IMG Updates and Discussion) [Verizon FIOS TV]