<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<rss version="2.0" xmlns:blogChannel="http://backend.userland.com/blogChannelModule">

<channel>
<title>Topic &#x27;Re: Wierd...&#x27; in forum &#x27;&#x27; - dslreports.com</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/Re-Wierd-19612669</link>
<description></description>
<language>en</language>
<pubDate>Sat, 11 Feb 2012 16:13:52 EDT</pubDate>
<lastBuildDate>Sat, 11 Feb 2012 16:13:52 EDT</lastBuildDate>

<item>
<title>Re: Wierd...</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/Re-Wierd-19613547</link>
<description><![CDATA[en102 posted : Possibly oversight on Microsoft's part.<br>Unfortunately, it will cause many messages to be rejected as spam, because the header isn't legit.<br><small>--<br>Canada = Hollywood North</small>]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/Re-Wierd-19613547</guid>
<pubDate>Wed, 12 Dec 2007 22:10:18 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: Wierd...</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/Re-Wierd-19613137</link>
<description><![CDATA[ThrowDemsOut posted : <div class="bquote"><small>said by <a href="/profile/1029810" onClick="this.blur(); return popup(event,'/uidpop?ajh=1&uid=1029810');">Mercurybird</a>:</small><br><br>Along these lines... today I got one of the newsletters from Microsoft in the email that I'm subscribed to. At the time I was test driving Eeye's Blink software. Lo and behold it popped up and said it had protected me from identity theft.<br><br>It told me that the address the email showed to be coming from was a bogus one-thing-or-another but the real address was Microsoft's.<br> </div>I get those MS newsletters too. Here is why Eeye is flagging it:<br>The msg ID in the headers has an entry like this:<br>Message-ID: <br><pre class="brush: text">&lt;14fdefa1cb4$ecd5e600$16f9280a@phx.gbl&gt;&#012; &#012;</pre><!--end code block-->which implies that the msg came from a domain called phx.gbl. There is, of course no such internet domain name.<br>The from field has this:<br>Microsoft@newsletters.microsoft.com<br><br>Since the domains don't match Eeye flags it as potentially bogus.<br><br>So why is Microsoft doing this? And it is coming from Microsoft.<br><br>See a brief discussion here:<br>&raquo;<A HREF="http://artific.com/articles/2005/12/27/a_practically_u/" >artific.com/articles/2005/12/27/&middot;&middot;&middot;cally_u/</A><br>and look for the parts that discuss phx.gbl.<br><br>For more do a google search on phx.gbl:<br>&raquo;<A HREF="http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&safe=off&q=phx.gbl&btnG=Search" >www.google.com/search?num=100&hl&middot;&middot;&middot;G=Search</A><br><br><small>--<br><A HREF="http://tinyurl.com/2a9xcb">Internet News</a><br><A HREF="http://tinyurl.com/bqv2h">My BLOG</a><br><A HREF="http://tinyurl.com/yz8xto">My Web Page</a><br></small>]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/Re-Wierd-19613137</guid>
<pubDate>Wed, 12 Dec 2007 21:03:59 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Wierd...</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/Wierd-19612669</link>
<description><![CDATA[Mercurybird posted : Along these lines... today I got one of the newsletters from Microsoft in the email that I'm subscribed to. At the time I was test driving Eeye's Blink software. Lo and behold it popped up and said it had protected me from identity theft.<br><br>It told me that the address the email showed to be coming from was a bogus one-thing-or-another but the real address was Microsoft's.<br><br>Now if it had told me it was the other way around I would have believed it. Figure that one out... How is security software going to figure out stuff like that, in a way that people can make sense of it?  :)<br><small>--<br>You're an American. You get a free pass, but nobody rides for free.</small>]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/Wierd-19612669</guid>
<pubDate>Wed, 12 Dec 2007 19:40:06 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

</channel>
</rss>

