Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
kernelfaultcheck - urgent please help »
« Secure Email  
AuthorAll Replies


Mats
FU kitty and the chimp. Smash
Premium
join:2002-03-16
reply to MAT777
Re: PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?

No they arent..

I could never give you an explanation that you would understand.. Hopefully someone will come in soon who can..


jimkyle
Btrieve Guy
Premium
join:2002-10-20
Oklahoma City, OK
·AT&T Southwest

Verisign was originally known as Network Solutions Inc., and was the original issuer of almost all URL names. It's still the registrar for *.com domains; if you have a dot-com domain registered anywhere else, your registrar is simply acting as Verisign's agent.

However the company's hat is not pure white. A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine. This caused a firestorm of controversy and they undid their change. However many of us still do not trust the firm completely; the feeling was (and is) that any violation of the standards indicates that future violations may occur.

The reason any program would contact them to verify that a certificate is valid is that the program is "signed" by its maker to assure that it has not been forged. Some operating systems refuse to allow an unsigned program to install or run, but the only way to verify a program signature is to check it out with the original provider -- in this case Verisign.
--
Jim Kyle


MAT777

join:2002-02-02
Montreal
·TekSavvy Solutions..
·Videotron


2 edits
So if I understand well, maybe pb is checking if the exe has not been hacked(forged?) on that site? That's how pb detect cheating? Looking at the amount of cheaters, this doesn't appear to work well

Is this the same certificate windowsxp ask you sometimes when you install driver?

Nice information btw, when I read this: "A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine."
I think they prove they it could be a spyware. I'm waiting for evenbalance to know if it is a normal activity or if my pb exe was infected by a virus.
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Securitykernelfaultcheck - urgent please help »
« Secure Email  


Tuesday, 10-Nov 05:37:39 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [83] VoIP Over 3G Still Not Working For iPhone
· [81] Verizon Keeps Swinging At AT&T
· [33] Bill Would Force ISPs To Block Financial Scams
· [24] Mediacom Hints At 50, 100 Mbps Speeds
· [14] Clearwire To Get Another $1.5 Billion
· [11] Monday Morning Links
· [9] 15 States Have Now Gotten Broadband Mapping Money
· [5] AT&T Launching New 7.2 Mbps 3G Modem
Most people now reading
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· WoW Updater cannot find wow.exe? [World of Warcraft]
· Framed for child porn 151; by a PC virus [Security]
· Telus supports CRTC's NN and UBB [TekSavvy]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· netTalk tk6000 [VOIP Tech Chat]
· My cat is reluctant to exercise. [General Questions]
· 60 Minutes piece on cyber security last night [Security]
· Know when to run! [Home Repair & Improvement]