Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
kernelfaultcheck - urgent please help »
« Secure Email  

Mats
Here kitty and the chimp. Smash
Premium
join:2002-03-16

Re: PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?

No they arent..

I could never give you an explanation that you would understand.. Hopefully someone will come in soon who can..

jimkyle
Btrieve Guy
Premium
join:2002-10-20
Oklahoma City, OK
·AT&T Southwest

Re: PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?

Verisign was originally known as Network Solutions Inc., and was the original issuer of almost all URL names. It's still the registrar for *.com domains; if you have a dot-com domain registered anywhere else, your registrar is simply acting as Verisign's agent.

However the company's hat is not pure white. A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine. This caused a firestorm of controversy and they undid their change. However many of us still do not trust the firm completely; the feeling was (and is) that any violation of the standards indicates that future violations may occur.

The reason any program would contact them to verify that a certificate is valid is that the program is "signed" by its maker to assure that it has not been forged. Some operating systems refuse to allow an unsigned program to install or run, but the only way to verify a program signature is to check it out with the original provider -- in this case Verisign.
--
Jim Kyle

MAT777

join:2002-02-02
Montreal
·TekSavvy Solutions..
·Videotron


2 edits

Re: PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?

So if I understand well, maybe pb is checking if the exe has not been hacked(forged?) on that site? That's how pb detect cheating? Looking at the amount of cheaters, this doesn't appear to work well

Is this the same certificate windowsxp ask you sometimes when you install driver?

Nice information btw, when I read this: "A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine."
I think they prove they it could be a spyware. I'm waiting for evenbalance to know if it is a normal activity or if my pb exe was infected by a virus.
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Securitykernelfaultcheck - urgent please help »
« Secure Email  


Saturday, 05-Dec 08:54:46 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [145] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [126] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [92] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [84] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [79] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [74] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· UPS - What do you people think happened? [General Questions]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· Road Runnner up to 50 mbps is ready ! [Road Runner]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· [ Billing] Modem rental price increase [Comcast HSI]
· [Snow Leopard] NFS Mounts - no more Directory Utility [All Things Macintosh]
· PS3 Media Server! "Must Have" [Console Tech]