republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
kernelfaultcheck - urgent please help »
« Secure Email  
AuthorAll Replies


jimkyle
Btrieve Guy
Premium
join:2002-10-20
Oklahoma City, OK
·AT&T Southwest

reply to Mats
Re: PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com?

Verisign was originally known as Network Solutions Inc., and was the original issuer of almost all URL names. It's still the registrar for *.com domains; if you have a dot-com domain registered anywhere else, your registrar is simply acting as Verisign's agent.

However the company's hat is not pure white. A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine. This caused a firestorm of controversy and they undid their change. However many of us still do not trust the firm completely; the feeling was (and is) that any violation of the standards indicates that future violations may occur.

The reason any program would contact them to verify that a certificate is valid is that the program is "signed" by its maker to assure that it has not been forged. Some operating systems refuse to allow an unsigned program to install or run, but the only way to verify a program signature is to check it out with the original provider -- in this case Verisign.
--
Jim Kyle


MAT777

join:2002-02-02
Montreal
·TekSavvy Solutions..
·Videotron


2 edits
So if I understand well, maybe pb is checking if the exe has not been hacked(forged?) on that site? That's how pb detect cheating? Looking at the amount of cheaters, this doesn't appear to work well

Is this the same certificate windowsxp ask you sometimes when you install driver?

Nice information btw, when I read this: "A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine."
I think they prove they it could be a spyware. I'm waiting for evenbalance to know if it is a normal activity or if my pb exe was infected by a virus.
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Securitykernelfaultcheck - urgent please help »
« Secure Email  


Tuesday, 24-Nov 03:54:17 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [84] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [54] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [30] AT&T Offers New Prepaid Wireless plans
· [29] Earthlink Suffers From Major E-mail Outage
· [26] Frontier Increases Modem Rental Fee
· [13] Vivendi In Way Of Comcast's NBC Desires
· [12] Charter Still Fighting With Creditors
· [7] Monday Morning Links
Most people now reading
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Big Bank Alternative to Bank of America? [General Questions]
· What to use while demonoid is down? [Filesharing Software]
· Using DIR-615 C1/3.01 with Trendnet TEW-652BRP in N Mode [D-Link]
· [How to] Install Asterisk on an Asus WL-520GU router [VOIP Tech Chat]
· DIR-655 1.32 firmware - DNS relay issue (fixed) [D-Link]
· [Config] cisco asa 5505 with multiple outside IP addresses [Cisco]
· Opening a file download dialog from a JavaScript function. [Webmasters and Developers]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]