 jimkyleBtrieve GuyPremium join:2002-10-20 Oklahoma City, OK kudos:2 Reviews:
·AT&T Southwest
| reply to Mats
Re: PunkBuster service try to connnect to verisign.com? Verisign was originally known as Network Solutions Inc., and was the original issuer of almost all URL names. It's still the registrar for *.com domains; if you have a dot-com domain registered anywhere else, your registrar is simply acting as Verisign's agent.
However the company's hat is not pure white. A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine. This caused a firestorm of controversy and they undid their change. However many of us still do not trust the firm completely; the feeling was (and is) that any violation of the standards indicates that future violations may occur.
The reason any program would contact them to verify that a certificate is valid is that the program is "signed" by its maker to assure that it has not been forged. Some operating systems refuse to allow an unsigned program to install or run, but the only way to verify a program signature is to check it out with the original provider -- in this case Verisign. -- Jim Kyle |
 2 edits | So if I understand well, maybe pb is checking if the exe has not been hacked(forged?) on that site? That's how pb detect cheating? Looking at the amount of cheaters, this doesn't appear to work well 
Is this the same certificate windowsxp ask you sometimes when you install driver?
Nice information btw, when I read this: "A few years ago they implemented a change to their service such that if a mis-typed address could not be found in their database, you would be redirected to their own search engine." I think they prove they it could be a spyware. I'm waiting for evenbalance to know if it is a normal activity or if my pb exe was infected by a virus. |