spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

speakup

@verizon.net

Blurry Verizon Fios VOD picture

I called Verizon about a blurry picture when using Fios VOD (video on demand) they told me that I was the first to complain about the problem ... it's nice to see by all the comments posted about this problem that I'm not crazy ... my HD and even SD channels aren't bad but the VOD looks like a poor out of focus picture ...

magilladke

join:2005-12-07
Collegeville, PA
Yea I started playing a VOD and it was blurry. I stopped watching it.

knarf829

join:2007-06-02
kudos:1
I'm assuming this is through the HD-DVR? If so, it's likely related to the crappy SD put out through the box since the IMG everyone wanted so badly was rolled out.

magilladke

Collegeville, PA
reply to speakup
I have an HD DVR, but the regular SD is fine. The VOD SD is considerably worse.

frankpf3
Verizon Fios

join:2007-08-09
Huntington Station, NY

1 edit
reply to speakup
The quality of the VOD movies is ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. I bought two movies so far, Fracture and Ocean's Thirteen, and the picture is completely blurry, out of focus, and no Dolby Digital 5.1.

The compression on their VOD library has to be huge. If you want to see what I mean, just choose to watch a free trailer for a movie, it looks really bad.

FIOS MAN9

join:2008-01-03
Pleasantville, NY
reply to speakup
Its like watching a VHS tape that has been sitting in a damp basement for 10 years. The quality is horrible!

frankpf3
Verizon Fios

Huntington Station, NY
reply to speakup
I can't believe Verizon would approve of this quality on their VOD titles. Absolutely horrible.

ProFiOSDude
Premium
join:2005-05-27
Chesapeake, VA
VOD is somewhat regionalized. Wonder if people in Virginia, Texas and California are experiencing the same. I've watched both SD and HD VOD and not experienced the degradation you've described.

PFD

Pvcleave

@xerox.com
reply to speakup