spc
Search similar:

uniqs
kelhess
join:2002-02-03
Mogadore, OH

kelhess

I want true 800 to ring to my VOIP

I want a true 800 number to ring into my voip and have been sitting here a the computer all night!

I've found plenty of 866, 877, etc, , but I want a true 800.

Second question.....
If I know of an 800 number that is currently disconnected, how do I find out what company "owns" it, so that I can attempt to contact them to "buy" the number, then (hopefully) transfer it to my voip carrier....

Thanks for any suggestions....

RockyBB
Premium Member
join:2005-01-31
Steamboat Springs, CO

2 edits

RockyBB

Premium Member

I do telecom for a living and would be delighted to help you with that. PM me if you would like some guidance.

For the sake of the thread, I'll answer your question. To find out what carrier controls a toll-free number, you can call the phone number that I'll PM to you. I don't want to publicize the number in an open forum to prevent lots of calls to that number which would potentially cause the provider to take it down. Call the number, then key in the phone number you're inquiring about. The system will tell you the carrier (or its code if a small carrier), and a trouble reporting phone number for the carrier. Then you can call them and be told that it's in aging and not going to be released to you.

There are some websites where you can search online for toll-free numbers in the pool of unassigned available numbers. The one I use is »businessesales.att.com/p ··· up.jhtml
That site shows no 800 numbers generally available right now, but one of my specialty providers has a pool of available 800 area code numbers ... it won't be pretty, or have repeating digits, but it will have a 800 area code. There is a $15 one time charge to activate a 800 area code number with that provider.

N9MD
Too busy to chat
Premium Member
join:2005-10-08
Boca Raton, FL

4 edits

N9MD to kelhess

Premium Member

to kelhess